Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#26 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Harrison
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 43/64

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Yeah, if someone figures out how the game decides which map to use, I'll add that to the program. For now though, you'll just have to change regions manually.

I was kind of hoping there was a place in the roms that gave the region names, but I couldn't find one, so they'll have to stay static.

I'm going to try to understand the routine that Goldmap uses to load its tilesets, and see if I can apply it to this. If I figure it out, I'll release it.

Offline

#27 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Masterge77
Member
From: Sandshore Town, Ameria Region
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 67/93
Website

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Perhaps even the ability to change the palletes, or import and export graphics without having to draw them on MS paint then re-draw them on a tile editor........


[img]http://p.gpxpl.us/qPTY.png[/img]
CLICK MY ROBOT POKEMON ARMY OR ELSE

Offline

#28 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Harrison
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 44/64

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Alright, I'm in way over my head when it comes to decompressing tilesets from rom, so that's going to have to wait a while.

Offline

#29 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Luigi-San
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 10/129

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Works like a charm!   ☺

23ktbtf.png

Offline

#30 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Melash
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 38/132

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Yes, this is a very nice program man, good work on it. Should make work much less time consuming and also help the noobs. Thanks.

Offline

#31 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 245/3,578

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Good job mate! Very handy program.

Offline

#32 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 107/2,339

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Decided to show the map that I made for West-Suden but it may eventually be changed (as it doesn't really work now).

2isyxwh.jpg

Offline

#33 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 248/3,578

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Nice map dude. it's cool having some maps not directly connected, not something you see often.

Offline

#34 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 108/2,339

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

I really need to make it connected as I don't know how to change where areas lead to :|

Offline

#35 1970-01-01 00:33:30

sonicblazeplatinum
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 7/18

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Nice map pf West Suden Miksy! Will the region map appear in the updated Beta 2 of Dark Future? I mean the changed version of the map you made since you said you would change it in the post you posted the map on.

Offline

#36 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 109/2,339

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Yeah, the maps are already changed to the rom (so they will be in enhanced beta 2) but I might have to remake them later.

Offline

#37 1970-01-01 00:33:30

jaydenp95
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 9/79

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

cool, does anybody know how to change what different maps like to ? for example, new bark town - route 29 - cherrygrove city

does anybody know how to change it so its just new bark - cherrygrove for example ?

Offline

#38 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 27/452

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

You'll have to change the connection data in the secondary map header. I'll explain further after you've googled it and posted some results.

cYa,

Tauwasser

Offline

#39 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Melash
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 42/132

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Not to get off-topic, but connection data is a pain. I've read several documents and still have trouble with it. 

Offline

#40 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Masterge77
Member
From: Sandshore Town, Ameria Region
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 68/93
Website

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

I would have mastered connection data on Megamap IF IT WAS NOT IN GERMAN!!!!!!!!


[img]http://p.gpxpl.us/qPTY.png[/img]
CLICK MY ROBOT POKEMON ARMY OR ELSE

Offline

#41 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 251/3,578

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Yeah, when MeanMrMofo translated it into English, he slacked pretty hard on some of the pages. He didn't even change it to read Wild Pokemon tables from the english locations.

Offline

#42 1970-01-01 00:33:30

jaydenp95
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 15/79

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

i think i will use this AFTER i have researched on how to change map connections  :D

Offline

#43 1970-01-01 00:33:30

30/703

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Yeah, when MeanMrMofo translated it into English, he slacked pretty hard on some of the pages. He didn't even change it to read Wild Pokemon tables from the english locations.

My guess is that he didn’t have the source code, so he just went through and changed the ASCII in a hex editor, without affecting any code or offsets.

OT: This is why I don’t like the common atmosphere of closed‐source VB tools in ROM hacking—if someone wants to improve the tool or make it work in another language or another ROM (like Crystal), it’s unreasonably difficult. Better to release the source code with everything.

#44 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Harrison
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 49/64

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

The fact that everything was closed-source is what made me decide to have everything that I made open-source. One of my plans is to remake many of the tools for RBY/GSC that are currently closed-source and single platform, so that they're open-source and any platform.

I should start releasing on PC just so everyone can have the source (I remember reading a post there about how the guy should have encrypted his exe so no one could decompile it), but eh, I'm fine with here and my site being the only places to get my programs.

Offline

#45 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 253/3,578

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

I'm sure that's what Mustard did, just change it in a hex editor.

For me, the only reason I write mine in Visual Basic is because that's the only language I'm fluent enough in to write programs with, although I would like to learn a better cross-platform compatible language at some point and re-release tools with it. I should have released the source with my programs though as I have accidentally lost the code for some of the editors so updating them would be difficult even for me. Although the source would always be available if one asked for it. Open source is definitely the way to go.

Offline

#46 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Sawakita
Administrator
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 13/365

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

I hope I'm not going off topic, but I need help. A couple of weeks ago I began working on a TownMap editor like this, but for RBGY.
The problem is that I'm not so skilled in computer programming and so far I've done the GUI, the load function and a "map-builder" (= you can create your map in the window). I don't know how to tell the program to put the hex values resulting from the created map into the Rom.

Can anyone tell me how to do it (by the way, I use Visual Basic 6)?
Or I upload the project as it is at the moment and you see what I've actually done so far (because I'm not sure I explained it very well)

Here are two screenshots...
gbmaped1.pnggbmaped2.png

Offline

#47 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Harrison
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 50/64

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Heh, well there goes my next program idea  :P (Though I might make one too for cross-platform usage)

Anyways, it's probably completely different in VB, but the way it's done in Freepascal is, you tell the variable that the file stream is stored in (In my programs, Rom), and tell it to position itself at the beginning of where you want to write the data (Rom.Position := Location). You then have to use the write procedure, by telling it what variable to write from, and how long  to write (Rom.Write(MapData,SizeOf(MapData))). However, this is only writing the file in RAM. To save it, you have to use SaveToFile to write it to disk (Rom.SaveToFile(FileName)).

A quick search shows VB to be similar. Here should help you out.

Offline

#48 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Masterge77
Member
From: Sandshore Town, Ameria Region
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 69/93
Website

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

I would like the R/B/Y Town Map editor, but most of us just hack G/S/C, it might be useful for those who want to hack R/B/Y though (Now if only there was a tileset editor and AGIXP for R/B/Y....)


[img]http://p.gpxpl.us/qPTY.png[/img]
CLICK MY ROBOT POKEMON ARMY OR ELSE

Offline

#49 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Sawakita
Administrator
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 14/365

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Lack of R/B/Y tools doesn't annoy me too much for three reason: first, if we would have as much tools as 3rd gen, we'd become like those who only use tools and don't know what are doing; second reason, 1st gen hacks would become banal and boring like most of 3rd gen ones (not that some of those aren't good, but are really few, in my opinion). And third reason: who needs more tools, when all you have hexeditors, tile editors (that btw allows you to edit tileset), and a map editor (just because editing one block at time is a colossal waste of time!). And don't forget we're lucky to have almost every offset documented by our predecessors (the road now is almost completely paved).

Returning intopic, Harrison: i don't know your programming code, but does freepascal have GUI objects like pictureboxes, and stuff similar to visualbasic? because i made an array of pictures for each tile of the map (320 in total!!) and i was wondering if there's a smarter method to build the townmap..? Perhaps you haven't this problem since townmap in gsc isn't compressed with RLE, right?

Offline

#50 1970-01-01 00:33:30

Harrison
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 51/64

Re: GSC Town Map Editor - Updated 7/27/10

Oh wow, that is really inefficient. I just used an array of bytes that corresponded with the correct tile ($00, $01, etc etc). If you export the map and open it up in a hex editor, that's all that the map is stored as in memory. When the map is drawn, it references the Tileset array (which is $00 to $2F of Bitmaps made from tileset.bmp), and draws the corresponding one to the canvas.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB