Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-30 22:05:33

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 245/649

Forest

I have grass for my forest. Basically it's Viridian Forest, but I used Ilex Forest to overwrite. I set the bytes for the grass tiles to 18 to indicate wild battles, but nothings happening at all. No wild Pokemon. I think this was a problem in SaR too. What do I do to fix it?

EDIT: On a unrelated note. Would I be able to insert this as a titlescreen?

bluedxts.jpg

Last edited by tysonrss (2011-11-30 22:47:57)


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#2 2011-12-01 05:17:39

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 635/2,311

Re: Forest

Try using different "Type" bytes in Primary Header.

Offline

#3 2011-12-01 05:33:36

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 248/649

Re: Forest

Yes, I've tried this and nothing works. Not even Route 2 works now after I extended the area and redrew the grass.

This is asinine.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#4 2011-12-01 06:55:07

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,065/3,501

Re: Forest

Well if a map is set to be in Kanto by its map name byte, but its wild pokemon data is in the Johto table, it will not load pokemon.

Also, make sure the encounter rate has not been accidentally set to 0. Sometimes Goldmap will do this if you aren't paying attention.

Offline

#5 2011-12-01 07:48:17

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 249/649

Re: Forest

Well, as for Route 2, it was set to 0 for some reason. That wasn't the only time I had problems. I think GoldMap also decompressed my tiles somehow because they wouldn't load after I messed with GolpMap. Thank God I just made a patch right before than or I would have surely given up.

As for the Forest, where is the table located so it can be repointed? If that's even possible in this circumstance.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#6 2011-12-01 15:40:12

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,066/3,501

Re: Forest

I believe that data is posted here somewhere already, but I'll look through my notes after class and get back to you, unless someone else already has by then.

Offline

#7 2011-12-01 18:17:47

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 251/649

Re: Forest

Well I found a table that lists wild data for Ilex Forest via Hex Editor, but I don't know if that;s what I should be looking for.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#8 2011-12-03 00:00:33

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 263/649

Re: Forest

I still haven't figured it out...


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#9 2011-12-03 07:06:10

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 265/649

Re: Forest

I figured it out. I looked at Johto's wild battle data and found 3 44 but 44 has to be 2C in hex. I found that in the wild data for johto and added it into Kanto's and wild pokemon appeared in Virididan Forest!

Thanks for helping me folks[/sarcasm]

Anywho, I realize this would become a problem if I was to insert more maps but needed existing data.

Is it possible to repoint the wild data for Kanto?

This question I hope I get a bit of assistance in :)

EDIT: Okay, yes it is possible to repoint. But I don't see what the point would be. Could I use the kanto pointer and change it so that it starts at Johto's data recognizing it as Kanto? I'll go ahead and see.

EDIT: No it did not work...

EDIT: Yeah I figured out how it works. Unfortunately, there's really no room to do a whole repoint. I'd have to overwrite Johto's fishing data etc, than repoint even those if I want to use them.

Repointing wild data=A lot of work!

Last edited by tysonrss (2011-12-03 07:44:26)


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#10 2011-12-03 08:33:15

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,070/3,501

Re: Forest

Sorry I didnt get back to this in a timely manner. I'm incredibly busy with finals and things right now, and I honestly forgot about it because I was working on a paper and trying to get a speech finished.

It looks like you basically figured out what to do, but I don't really know what to tell you on the room to repoint issue. What I did for SaR was a lot of work. It was also tied to the way that I worked around a problem with the Pokegear map looping oddly in Kanto pre-elite four. I changed all the names for Johto to be Kanto, changed the map, re-assigned everything in Kanto to the new Kanto name locations, and then copied the Kanto data over the old (larger) johto wild pokemon data, and added new ones when I needed to. But that's not really practical, and not the way you want to do it I'm sure.

Offline

#11 2011-12-03 08:55:09

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 643/2,311

Re: Forest

Best way would be repointing to another bank which would require assembly (which zhengwei just did with some data ?).

Last edited by Miksy91 (2011-12-03 08:55:57)

Offline

#12 2011-12-03 15:46:53

370/701

Re: Forest

Another option is repointing the stuff right after it to the end of the bank, and expanding the table in‐place. But whether this is a good option or not depends on the circumstances.

#13 2011-12-03 17:11:09

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 266/649

Re: Forest

@Mateo: Wow that don't sound too bad, problem is I tried continuing Johto's data with Kanto's and disabling the Johto pointer while giving the Jotho pointer to Kanto's and it still didn't work. I took off the FF and made sure that Johto's was with Kanto's but I guess I can't do it that way....

Btw Mateo, couldn't you just find the flag that changes the map? I'd imagine it's in the hall of fame script maybe, or even Elm's.

@Miksy: Too bad I don't know assembly....

@IIMarkus: There really isn't enough at the end to expand the table. There's only like 7 banks at the end of the whole table. It would clash with other data if I did that.

Last edited by tysonrss (2011-12-03 17:28:24)


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#14 2011-12-03 17:45:03

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,071/3,501

Re: Forest

I could have, but since Johto has more slots than Kanto does, it seemed practical to turn Johto into Kanto so I could have places like Viridian Forest and Safari Zone show up on the town map more easily.

Also, I'm not sure what you mean by continuing Johto's data with Kanto's. What I did was REPLACE Johto's data with the names and map locations for Kanto, and included the new ones as well. Then I went in to every kanto map's header and changed its location byte to line up with the "Kanto" place names that used to be Johto names. I made all the Johto maps be assigned to "UNUSED" (which is what I temporarily renamed one of them) to keep them out of the way until I get around to re-assembling them differently into the orange islands. Also, I redrew the Kanto map over the Johto map, and will turn the Kanto map into the Orange Islands map when the time comes.

As this meant all Kanto maps were now in the Johto table, I copied the kanto wild pokemon data over to the Johto table, which was larger and gave me more entries to use for places like Viridian Forest and such.

Offline

#15 2011-12-03 18:17:30

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 267/649

Re: Forest

I think I'll do that and extend the table replacing Johto's data. Hopefully it works.

Do you know the flag that sets the map data correctly? I know it has something to do with beating the E4, but I tried the flags and nothing..

EDIT: I copied Kanto's data over Johto's and added 03 2C(Ilex Forest) at the end and it still doesn't work....I don't get what I'm doing wrong...

Last edited by tysonrss (2011-12-03 19:09:47)


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#16 2011-12-03 19:50:24

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,072/3,501

Re: Forest

Well, are the kanto maps assigned to maps in the johto table? Like, in the map header, the byte that says which map they are, are they the ones that correspond to johto just renamed to be kanto maps? Because that's what I was talking about doing. If the map is still assigned a typical kanto place byte but is in the johto table, it won't load it.

Offline

#17 2011-12-03 19:57:25

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 268/649

Re: Forest

Well no lol. But I would think that's what the pointer is for. That pointer is ridiculously useless!

Anyhow, I saw the locations in the thread with wild data. But I don't know what half of it means and how I'd be able to get it recognizable with Kanto.

As for your method, I don't even know where to start at, at replacing everything..


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#18 2011-12-03 20:57:01

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 271/649

Re: Forest

Well I extended the Kanto set for now. But I have level 119 Beedrills and Beedrills period!

The data is correct on Gold Map for wild Pokemon but they aren't showing up!


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#19 2011-12-03 22:08:02

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 272/649

Re: Forest

Well it worked when I shifted it back to Ilex Forest. And oddly enough it kept all it's event's too...


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#20 2011-12-03 22:15:20

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,073/3,501

Re: Forest

Hey at least it works haha.

Also, please use the Edit feature instead of posting 3 replies back to back.

Offline

#21 2011-12-03 22:28:05

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 273/649

Re: Forest

Sorry about that lol.

And I think that it would still work if I shifted all maps over the Johto ones. I think it would keep it's original events, and solve many problems lol.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#22 2011-12-03 23:50:07

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,074/3,501

Re: Forest

Indeed. Switching them to the Johto maps they keep all their original events and stuff, as you are only changing the byte in the header that says what location they correspond to.

Offline

#23 2011-12-04 00:06:43

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 274/649

Re: Forest

Oh wow. Thanks man. Harrison's Map editor is sure and the hell gonna come in handy.

Just finished the Kanto Map now. All I got to do is convert Kanto's maps over and edit the headers with his program.

EDIT: Thanks to Miksy's little tutorial, I now understand how you did it Mateo. I assigned the maps to unused too! And I can pull them out when need be.

Last edited by tysonrss (2011-12-04 00:46:49)


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#24 2011-12-04 02:50:25

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,075/3,501

Re: Forest

Good deal! Glad you got it figured out!

Offline

#25 2011-12-04 02:58:24

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 278/649

Re: Forest

I went back to my other rom become it became a pain.

I realized that I had to assign my maps in a certain order. Since Route 29 came after New Bark, I would have had to insert Route 1 in it's place. And jeep doing it like that. It's a real pain. I guess I'll try to find out how to stop the loop with the Kanto Map..

Which isn't going so well wither. The pointer points me to a bunch of data I don't recognize.

EDIT: It would help if I knew how to change the order of the map.

EDIT: Nvm, it's not the order bugging me. It's changing the names! I know where they'e at, but wonder if a name is longer? Secondly, I just want my existing kanto names displayed correctly instead of the Johto names...

EDIT: I successfully repointed the name for Route 31 and made it to Viridian Forest!

Operation Intrude 90990 completed.

Last edited by tysonrss (2011-12-04 06:21:59)


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB