Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-10-30 10:26:09

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 81/140

how to add new pokemon?

I want to add a new pokemon? How should I do?
Do everyone know the iron MEWTWO.it is the pokemon that in the first pikachu movie.
I want to add it.it revolutes from MEWTWO when trading that MEWTWO takes metal coat.

Offline

#2 2011-10-30 12:32:25

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 571/2,306

Re: how to add new pokemon?

zhengwei wrote:

I want to add a new pokemon? How should I do?
Do everyone know the iron MEWTWO.it is the pokemon that in the first pikachu movie.
I want to add it.it revolutes from MEWTWO when trading that MEWTWO takes metal coat.

Insert a sprite of it over another pokemon and give it new move learning data.
I don't think anyone has ever inputted more pokemon in a gsc hack than 251 before.

Offline

#3 2011-10-30 12:49:19

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 82/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

Miksy91 wrote:
zhengwei wrote:

I want to add a new pokemon? How should I do?
Do everyone know the iron MEWTWO.it is the pokemon that in the first pikachu movie.
I want to add it.it revolutes from MEWTWO when trading that MEWTWO takes metal coat.

Insert a sprite of it over another pokemon and give it new move learning data.
I don't think anyone has ever inputted more pokemon in a gsc hack than 251 before.

It's very difficult?Nobody do it before?

Offline

#4 2011-10-30 13:45:25

amvz08
Member
From: Philippines
Registered: 2011-06-27
Post 169/600

Re: how to add new pokemon?

suggest to you to replace useless pokemon,then rearrange order so that metal mewtwo will be after mewtwo


Trust me, I'm an Engineer

>>>Pinoy ka ba? Pasok ka dito<<<

Offline

#5 2011-10-30 13:46:32

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 83/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

amvz wrote:

suggest to you to replace useless pokemon,then rearrange order so that metal mewtwo will be after mewtwo

Do that only replace another pokemon?
I want to new one but don't replace another..
I konw that 0xfc,0xfe,0xff are error pokemon.0xfd is an egg.
So can I add new pokemon in the field of error pokemon?

Last edited by zhengwei (2011-10-30 13:49:56)

Offline

#6 2011-10-30 14:16:30

tekcoR
Member
From: Celadon City
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 77/165

Re: how to add new pokemon?

You have to consider that you also have to change the Pokedex Entries routine, etc. I think the effort isn't really worth to add a few Pokemon, especially, if there are useless one like Dunsparce which can be replaced.


Cya

Offline

#7 2011-10-30 14:23:31

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 84/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

tekcoR wrote:

You have to consider that you also have to change the Pokedex Entries routine, etc. I think the effort isn't really worth to add a few Pokemon, especially, if there are useless one like Dunsparce which can be replaced.

but the iron MEWTWO must be No.252???Can I replace Dunsparce and the iron MEWTWO is at No.252?

Offline

#8 2011-10-30 14:31:29

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 85/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

Because that I don't want to destroy the orignal one. So I strick to don't replace antother pokemon.
how can I chang that in minimum?

Offline

#9 2011-11-02 15:01:59

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 86/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

tekcoR wrote:

You have to consider that you also have to change the Pokedex Entries routine, etc. I think the effort isn't really worth to add a few Pokemon, especially, if there are useless one like Dunsparce which can be replaced.

Are there any empty slots for new pokemon?
I know that some "?" in gba,replace that can insert new pokemon.

Last edited by zhengwei (2011-11-02 15:06:52)

Offline

#10 2011-11-03 04:12:58

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 573/2,306

Re: how to add new pokemon?

zhengwei wrote:
tekcoR wrote:

You have to consider that you also have to change the Pokedex Entries routine, etc. I think the effort isn't really worth to add a few Pokemon, especially, if there are useless one like Dunsparce which can be replaced.

Are there any empty slots for new pokemon?
I know that some "?" in gba,replace that can insert new pokemon.

With assembly, there are new slots.
I don't think hackers here even know what all should be modified that No. 252 would get working properly.

Offline

#11 2011-11-03 15:01:04

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 87/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

Miksy91 wrote:
zhengwei wrote:
tekcoR wrote:

You have to consider that you also have to change the Pokedex Entries routine, etc. I think the effort isn't really worth to add a few Pokemon, especially, if there are useless one like Dunsparce which can be replaced.

Are there any empty slots for new pokemon?
I know that some "?" in gba,replace that can insert new pokemon.

With assembly, there are new slots.
I don't think hackers here even know what all should be modified that No. 252 would get working properly.

Why inserting a new pokemon in gbc is so hard,comparing that inserting in gba is so easy?

Offline

#12 2011-11-03 15:24:37

307/700

Re: how to add new pokemon?

zhengwei wrote:

Why inserting a new pokemon in gbc is so hard,comparing that inserting in gba is so easy?

The GBA games have around 25 “blank” Pokémon, which only need minor editing to turn into real monsters. In general, inserting is not needed.

GSC have no “blank” Pokémon, so everything needs to be manually repointed and inserted. Aside from that, Pokémon identifiers are held in one byte, meaning a maximum of 256. 251 are taken, 0 and 255 shouldn’t be used, and 253 is used by Egg, so there are really only two identifiers left: 252 and 254.

RBY do have 39 “blank” Pokémon (the Missing Numbers). Thus, no inserting is needed, only fairly minor editing.

That said, it is possible to add more Pokémon to GSC; it just needs some extra work. You might try talking to Coolboyman, because Prism uses an extra bit for Pokémon identifiers and can hold up to ~512 Pokémon.

Last edited by IIMarckus (2011-11-04 02:55:21)

#13 2011-11-03 15:42:51

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 88/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

IIMarckus wrote:
zhengwei wrote:

Why inserting a new pokemon in gbc is so hard,comparing that inserting in gba is so easy?

The GBA games have around 25 “blank” Pokémon, which only need minor editing to turn into real monsters. In general, inserting is not needed.

GSC have no “blank” Pokémon, so everything needs to be manually repointed and inserted. Aside from that, Pokémon identifiers are held in one byte, meaning a maximum of 256. 251 are taken, 0 and 255 shouldn’t be used, and 253 is used by Egg, so there are really only two identifiers left: 252 and 254.

RBY do have 39 “blank” Pokémon (the Missing Numbers). Thus, no inserting is needed, only fairly minor editing.

That said, it is possible to add more Pokémon to GSC; it just needs some extra work. You might try talking to Coolboyman, because Prism uses an extra bit for Pokémon identifiers and can hold up to ~512 Pokémon.

I konw that 0xfc,0xfe,0xff are error pokemon.0xfd is an egg.
So can I add new pokemon in the field of error pokemon?besides that I will do extra work?How can I contact with Collboyman?

Offline

#14 2011-11-03 17:28:16

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 30/649

Re: how to add new pokemon?

Inserting them in place of Missingno's may work...although I really don't know, heh.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#15 2011-11-04 02:43:13

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 89/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

tysonrss wrote:

Inserting them in place of Missingno's may work...although I really don't know, heh.

Usually, I use cheat code that any pokemon will appear in wild.I use 0xfc,0xfe,0xff,it will appear a funny spots pokemon,after that, return to map,the game will crash.I use 0xfd,it will appear an egg,but no crash.
Comparing that in GBA.it will appear a pokemon whose appearance is a question mark,it can be caught,and no crash.

Offline

#16 2011-11-04 02:54:49

308/700

Re: how to add new pokemon?

zhengwei wrote:
IIMarckus wrote:
zhengwei wrote:

Why inserting a new pokemon in gbc is so hard,comparing that inserting in gba is so easy?

The GBA games have around 25 “blank” Pokémon, which only need minor editing to turn into real monsters. In general, inserting is not needed.

GSC have no “blank” Pokémon, so everything needs to be manually repointed and inserted. Aside from that, Pokémon identifiers are held in one byte, meaning a maximum of 256. 251 are taken, 0 and 255 shouldn’t be used, and 253 is used by Egg, so there are really only two identifiers left: 252 and 254.

RBY do have 39 “blank” Pokémon (the Missing Numbers). Thus, no inserting is needed, only fairly minor editing.

That said, it is possible to add more Pokémon to GSC; it just needs some extra work. You might try talking to Coolboyman, because Prism uses an extra bit for Pokémon identifiers and can hold up to ~512 Pokémon.

I konw that 0xfc,0xfe,0xff are error pokemon.0xfd is an egg.
So can I add new pokemon in the field of error pokemon?

Probably 0xFC and 0xFE. Definitely not 0xFF.

zhengwei wrote:

besides that I will do extra work?How can I contact with Collboyman?

Look him up. He is a fairly active hacker.

zhengwei wrote:
tysonrss wrote:

Inserting them in place of Missingno's may work...although I really don't know, heh.

Usually, I use cheat code that any pokemon will appear in wild.I use 0xfc,0xfe,0xff,it will appear a funny spots pokemon,after that, return to map,the game will crash.I use 0xfd,it will appear an egg,but no crash.
Comparing that in GBA.it will appear a pokemon whose appearance is a question mark,it can be caught,and no crash.

The GBA games have error handling that does not exist in GSC. Hence, the GBA games crash and GSC do not.

#17 2011-11-04 03:05:33

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 90/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

IIMarckus wrote:

Probably 0xFC and 0xFE. Definitely not 0xFF.

0x00 and 0xff are used for another function?

IIMarckus wrote:

Look him up. He is a fairly active hacker.

but I can't find in this forum,where can I find him?

IIMarckus wrote:

The GBA games have error handling that does not exist in GSC. Hence, the GBA games crash and GSC do not.

but in GBA,the question mark pokemon is really a pokemon,it can be caught ,and it also use in battle,but game will crash in level up.I think that is a empty slot for new pokemon in future,that is purpose of Nintendo.
in GSC,that is not a new pokemon,game will crash.

Last edited by zhengwei (2011-11-04 03:06:13)

Offline

#18 2011-11-04 03:18:44

309/700

Re: how to add new pokemon?

zhengwei wrote:
IIMarckus wrote:

Probably 0xFC and 0xFE. Definitely not 0xFF.

0x00 and 0xff are used for another function?

The values 0x00 and 0xFF are generally reserved for terminators. It is almost always a bad idea to use them.

zhengwei wrote:
IIMarckus wrote:

Look him up. He is a fairly active hacker.

but I can't find in this forum,where can I find him?

He is on this board. Or you could just Google it.

#19 2011-11-04 07:14:38

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 91/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

IIMarckus wrote:
zhengwei wrote:
IIMarckus wrote:

Probably 0xFC and 0xFE. Definitely not 0xFF.

0x00 and 0xff are used for another function?

The values 0x00 and 0xFF are generally reserved for terminators. It is almost always a bad idea to use them.

zhengwei wrote:
IIMarckus wrote:

Look him up. He is a fairly active hacker.

but I can't find in this forum,where can I find him?

He is on this board. Or you could just Google it.


Now ,I think it's easy for you,could you tell the rom address of pokedex entry,something about struct of pokemon,like that evolution link,learn what move when to the level.that's difficult for me.I will learn it at first,coolboyman can help me ,after that, I will do extra work for inserting new pokemon

Last edited by zhengwei (2011-11-04 07:15:17)

Offline

#20 2011-11-04 18:24:10

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 32/649

Re: how to add new pokemon?

Coolboyman is everywhere!

Google even asked "did you mean Koolboyman?". Haha.

But anyway, are you referring to G/S? I thought it was Red/Blue.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#21 2011-11-06 11:45:16

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 92/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

tysonrss wrote:

Coolboyman is everywhere!

Google even asked "did you mean Koolboyman?". Haha.

But anyway, are you referring to G/S? I thought it was Red/Blue.

I am modifying the g/s, do you mean I was talking about RBY?

Offline

#22 2011-11-07 06:41:16

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 93/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

how to modify the orignal pokemon?I only know that (Pokémon base stats data structure in Generation II) in link:http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Pok%C3%A9mon_base_stats_data_structure_in_Generation_II
Do anybody know how to modify the revolution link ,Learnset By leveling up and sprites?

Offline

#23 2011-11-07 09:12:50

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 61/649

Re: how to add new pokemon?

ASM is your best bet little buddy.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#24 2011-11-07 09:23:43

zhengwei
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Post 94/140

Re: how to add new pokemon?

tysonrss wrote:

ASM is your best bet little buddy.

I know the evolution structure in gba,do you know where is it in g/s?

Offline

#25 2011-11-07 18:14:24

tekcoR
Member
From: Celadon City
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 78/165

Re: how to add new pokemon?

IImarckus made this useful post which explains the moveset and evolution data.
For editing sprites read tutorials about AgiXP.


Cya

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB