Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-12-20 09:43:30

Fotomac
Member
Registered: 2015-10-25
Post 111/281

Multiple languages?

How do you add additional language options on the main menu?

Offline

#2 2015-12-20 10:53:31

Crystal_
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2012-09-16
Post 350/411
Website

Re: Multiple languages?

As in to play the game in a different language? That's pretty insane, there's a reason why the different languages were released as different games. The only gb games that probably integrate more than one language are the ones with very little text, like Wario Land as far as I remember.

Offline

#3 2015-12-20 11:15:44

Fotomac
Member
Registered: 2015-10-25
Post 112/281

Re: Multiple languages?

But in theory, could it possibly work, and how many languages would reasonably fit?

Last edited by Fotomac (2015-12-20 11:16:02)

Offline

#4 2015-12-20 12:14:26

Crystal_
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2012-09-16
Post 351/411
Website

Re: Multiple languages?

The amount of text in the game is enormous, just a second language would probably require expanding the ROM to 2MB. Not that this is difficult to do, I just find it pointless.

The concept is simple though. It's just using a flag to determine which text to load, which the player can modify in the options menu as another option. You will need to reallocate lots of text in different banks though, and this probably implies moving the related scripts and other stuff as well.

Offline

#5 2015-12-20 12:47:51

Fotomac
Member
Registered: 2015-10-25
Post 113/281

Re: Multiple languages?

Crystal_ wrote:

The amount of text in the game is enormous, just a second language would probably require expanding the ROM to 2MB. Not that this is difficult to do, I just find it pointless.

The concept is simple though. It's just using a flag to determine which text to load, which the player can modify in the options menu as another option. You will need to reallocate lots of text in different banks though, and this probably implies moving the related scripts and other stuff as well.

Any idea on how to do all that?

Offline

#6 2015-12-20 16:16:38

Crystal_
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2012-09-16
Post 352/411
Website

Re: Multiple languages?

As I told you somewhere else, you keep trying to do complex stuff before learning the basics. Don't rush. Give the ASMSchool a read and start by modifying some simpler code by yourself until you get a bit more comfortable with the basics. Experiment with some other stuff that doesn't require complex engine rewrites. Having some knowledge of the gameboy's architecture will also be helpful to know what you can do and what you can't do, and how to approach it. Just the basics for now; the memory map, bankswitching, interrupts, a basic hang of the graphics engine and structure, and so on. There are many resources out there to have a look.

Once you have a better understanding of the basic concepts and are more familiar with assembly, you can move to bigger things and come up with your own ideas by yourself, while asking for help on more specific things you may have trouble with, instead of just asking "how can I do this or that" akin to "give me a detailed step by step guide of how to it", which, given that it's basically not possible, it translates to "will you do it for me".

I don't want to sound harsh in this post or be "just a boring post to ignore", but since you seem to have big goals for your project (which is good), the only way to achieve them is by starting from the basics and by keeping the motivation to learn. For instance, have you already fixed that bug with the 5 pokeballs you kept asking help for? I'm pretty sure that is an easy fix and that all it takes is knowing what the main asm instructions do to be able to understand what the code of that script is doing. Once you are able to modify that script by yourself we can start talking about moving on to bigger things like this.

Last edited by Crystal_ (2015-12-20 16:26:10)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB