Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-31 07:03:50

LeaderKoko
Member
From: Majalengka-West Java,Indonesia
Registered: 2015-09-28
Post 11/81
Website

How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

Can you help me ??? I saw townmap graphics pokemon christmas ,, I hope to do well. I see the tool "Gsc Townmap Editor" and within the existing tiles image with .bmp format. I've been a little change and edit townmap, but after I opened my rom hack and saw townmap it turns tiles ,, it has not changed one bit! Can you explain in detail how? I tried to enter it through agixp tiles, but I do not know the offset.


Find Me In Facebook
Koko Robert
I Was Hacking
|GOLD| Pokemon Jewel Version

Offline

#2 2015-10-31 12:53:32

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 3,124/3,455

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

You use Tile Layer Pro to edit town map graphics. I'll look up the offset when I'm on my computer.

Offline

#3 2015-10-31 13:29:13

LeaderKoko
Member
From: Majalengka-West Java,Indonesia
Registered: 2015-09-28
Post 13/81
Website

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

What is the offset ?


Find Me In Facebook
Koko Robert
I Was Hacking
|GOLD| Pokemon Jewel Version

Offline

#4 2015-10-31 13:55:30

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 3,125/3,455

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

I will look it up when I'm on my computer. I'm on my phone right now.

Offline

#5 2015-10-31 15:08:57

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 3,126/3,455

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

Ok, the offset for the Town Map graphics is 0xF8C94.


So, open your rom in Tile Layer Pro, and at the top click on "Edit" then "Goto".

That will pop up a window. Type in F8C94 in the box labeled "Offset" and click "Go!"

It should then look like this:
RFfpV.jpg

As you can see, those are the town map graphics, but the colors look wrong. So play with the color sliders until it looks more sensible. We'll just swap the black and white colors. It will look like this:
Gs2QI.jpg

Now you can see how things are supposed to look, and you can edit them more easily. You can edit them from inside TLP and make sure to save the rom when you are done.


Then, you will need to export a copy of that image to use with the Town Map editor. It doesn't load the image from the rom, so you'll need to give it a copy of your new image so it will show the town map right (but not in color, unless you take the time to manually recolor each time yourself).

Right-click on the top left corner of the image, then (while still holding down right-click) drag the mouse over to the bottom right corner (to the O in Kanto) to select the whole image.

With the image selected, you can go to "Edit" then "Export Bitmap" and choose where to save it. That gets a copy of the image out of the rom and into a normal picture file so you can load it in the town map editor.

Now, you aren't quite done yet. Open the picture you exported in Paint, and press Ctrl + W to bring up the "resize image" menu. You'll need to resize it to 200% because that is the size that the Town Map editor uses. Then just save it as "tileset.bmp" and you can replace the image that came with the Town Map editor.



I can add screenshots for the later steps too if you need me to. Hopefully this helps though.

Last edited by Mateo (2015-10-31 15:18:03)

Offline

#6 2015-11-01 07:35:43

LeaderKoko
Member
From: Majalengka-West Java,Indonesia
Registered: 2015-09-28
Post 14/81
Website

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

I was trying to change my titlescreen in easier and normal method, but its not work ! Can you change the titlescreen for me ?? I give you credit, or you can join to this hack...


Find Me In Facebook
Koko Robert
I Was Hacking
|GOLD| Pokemon Jewel Version

Offline

#7 2015-11-01 07:38:52

LeaderKoko
Member
From: Majalengka-West Java,Indonesia
Registered: 2015-09-28
Post 15/81
Website

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

This is the rom :
https:// tusfiles.net/ r33dtnkcba6h
and it is the titlescreen :
http://rezaaryafahsya.mywapblog.com/fil … screen.png

Last edited by LeaderKoko (2015-11-01 07:40:15)


Find Me In Facebook
Koko Robert
I Was Hacking
|GOLD| Pokemon Jewel Version

Offline

#8 2015-11-01 15:53:00

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 3,128/3,455

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

LeaderKoko wrote:

I was trying to change my titlescreen in easier and normal method, but its not work ! Can you change the titlescreen for me ?? I give you credit, or you can join to this hack...

I can try to help explain it to you, but I really don't have time to just start inserting things for people. I have my own hacks I'm working on, plus I'm back in school working on a second degree, among other things. If I start just doing things for you, I'll have to do them for everyone, and I just won't be able to. So I'll be happy to try and help explain what went wrong and help you fix it, but I can't just start having people send me their roms and me insert things for them.



So, you said you tried to follow the tutorial, but it didn't work. What happened exactly when you tried it? Try to be specific. Did the rom crash? Did the game load, but the titlescreen didn't load the new graphics? Did it load the new tiles, but the picture looked wrong? That sort of thing.

Offline

#9 2015-11-01 16:00:49

LeaderKoko
Member
From: Majalengka-West Java,Indonesia
Registered: 2015-09-28
Post 17/81
Website

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

I just following tutorial, and when i run the game in vba, the titlescreen was blank ! I dont know why, please... Help me, change that titlescreen for me... Just titlescreen :'(


Find Me In Facebook
Koko Robert
I Was Hacking
|GOLD| Pokemon Jewel Version

Offline

#10 2015-11-01 16:17:24

LeaderKoko
Member
From: Majalengka-West Java,Indonesia
Registered: 2015-09-28
Post 18/81
Website

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

Okey, if u cant do it.
I wan't to hear again "how to exchange titlescreen" but, u has explain it very spesific


Find Me In Facebook
Koko Robert
I Was Hacking
|GOLD| Pokemon Jewel Version

Offline

#11 2015-11-01 16:21:36

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 3,130/3,455

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

The "easier method" is extremely simple, or it would be if the link wasn't dead for the titlescreen image it tells you to insert. I'll find that image on my computer, upload it again, and try to make the tutorial easier to understand.

Offline

#12 2015-11-01 16:27:58

LeaderKoko
Member
From: Majalengka-West Java,Indonesia
Registered: 2015-09-28
Post 20/81
Website

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

But, i dont have time to load my hack. I need your help, only titlescreen :(


Find Me In Facebook
Koko Robert
I Was Hacking
|GOLD| Pokemon Jewel Version

Offline

#13 2015-11-01 16:35:14

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 3,131/3,455

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

I didn't ask you to upload anything. I said I was going to upload a file so people could use it.


Although, now that I actually looked at the title screen you want to use, I can tell you that the "easier method" will not work with that one. I'd actually have to look more closely at it to see if that titlescreen will work at all, it might have too many individual tiles. (Yes, I know it is the same size as the gameboy's screen, but it might use more individual tiles than you can use, since the original title screens re-use a lot of the tiles multiple times for the background).

So I guess I will go look at the tutorial for the more complicated method and see if I can explain that one better, since that is the only way you'll be able to use that title screen you want.

Offline

#14 2015-11-01 16:43:36

LeaderKoko
Member
From: Majalengka-West Java,Indonesia
Registered: 2015-09-28
Post 21/81
Website

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

Okay, lets do it Mateo


Find Me In Facebook
Koko Robert
I Was Hacking
|GOLD| Pokemon Jewel Version

Offline

#15 2015-11-02 05:58:33

LeaderKoko
Member
From: Majalengka-West Java,Indonesia
Registered: 2015-09-28
Post 22/81
Website

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

What is the compatible method for my hack ?


Find Me In Facebook
Koko Robert
I Was Hacking
|GOLD| Pokemon Jewel Version

Offline

#16 2015-11-02 06:06:42

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 3,137/3,455

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

http://hax.iimarck.us/topic/42/

That is the one you will have to use. But I'm sure I will need to re-write that tutorial to have it make sense to anyone. I made that thread years ago, and basically just copy/pasted a badly written tutorial by someone else, and tried to make it halfway readable.

Offline

#17 2015-11-02 06:47:23

LeaderKoko
Member
From: Majalengka-West Java,Indonesia
Registered: 2015-09-28
Post 23/81
Website

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

Okay, thank u. I'm sorry im new hacker, i have much problem... I want to add gender selection, but i dont know how ?


Find Me In Facebook
Koko Robert
I Was Hacking
|GOLD| Pokemon Jewel Version

Offline

#18 2015-11-02 16:16:08

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 3,140/3,455

Re: How to exchange GSC TownMap Tiles ??

I'll just be honest with you. Given the way you have responded to everything else so far, I don't think I will be able to explain how to add Gender Selection to Gold in a way that you will understand yet. In order to add Gender Selection, you will need to understand:

- How to use a hex editor
- How to insert ASM routines
- How to insert sprites to a custom location using AGIXP 4.11 (I don't think 3.00 will work)

I think you need to come back to that once you know more about the basics, otherwise it will just confuse you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB