Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-18 21:10:38

~Red
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 196/276

Trouble with Cygwin....

So I followed everything in the instructions and created a repository but whenever I try "make" in the Cygwin terminal, I get this message:

/usr/bin/make.exe: error while loading shared libraries: ?: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

What is wrong?

Offline

#2 2015-02-19 02:07:31

~Red
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 197/276

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Ok nevermind, I got that to work, but now it's giving me this error?

$ make
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/scan_includes.py': [Errno 2] No suc                  h file or directory
python: can't open file 'extras/pokemontools/gfx.py': [Errno 2] No such file or                   directory
Makefile:79: recipe for target 'red/audio.o' failed
make: *** [red/audio.o] Error 2

Offline

#3 2015-02-19 02:28:44

Danny-E 33
Administrator
Registered: 2012-06-09
Post 852/1,023

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Most likely, when you cloned, you did not use --recursive.

To fix this:

git submodule init
git submodule update

Red Hack: Pokémon Prototype

Total number of registered users: 7000+
Total number of active users: ~12

Offline

#4 2015-02-19 03:03:06

~Red
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 198/276

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Danny-E 33 wrote:

Most likely, when you cloned, you did not use --recursive.

To fix this:

git submodule init
git submodule update

I'm now getting this error!

$ make
rgbasm -h -o red/audio.o red/audio.asm
RGBAsm v1.08c (part of ASMotor 1.10-linux)

Usage: rgbasm [-b chars] [-g chars] [-i path] [-o outfile] [-p pad_value] file
C:\cygwin32\usr\local\bin\rgbasm.exe: invalid option -- h
Makefile:79: recipe for target 'red/audio.o' failed
make: *** [red/audio.o] Error 1


:(

Offline

#5 2015-02-19 03:48:45

ShantyTown
Member
Registered: 2013-12-04
Post 200/341

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

~Red wrote:
Danny-E 33 wrote:

Most likely, when you cloned, you did not use --recursive.

To fix this:

git submodule init
git submodule update

I'm now getting this error!

$ make
rgbasm -h -o red/audio.o red/audio.asm
RGBAsm v1.08c (part of ASMotor 1.10-linux)

Usage: rgbasm [-b chars] [-g chars] [-i path] [-o outfile] [-p pad_value] file
C:\cygwin32\usr\local\bin\rgbasm.exe: invalid option -- h
Makefile:79: recipe for target 'red/audio.o' failed
make: *** [red/audio.o] Error 1


:(

It looks like you might be using an old release of rgbds. Get the latest version (version 0.2.2) here: https://github.com/bentley/rgbds/releases

Last edited by ShantyTown (2015-02-19 03:49:58)

Offline

#6 2015-02-19 12:54:44

~Red
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 199/276

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Ok, it's now giving me an error regarding the pallettes of my custom gfx. How do I edit these images to only include four colours? (I'm guessing this is the problem, I tried to be careful in using the dropper tool picking only those four colours!).

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "extras/pokemontools/gfx.py", line 1668, in <module>
    main()
  File "extras/pokemontools/gfx.py", line 1664, in main
    method(args.filenames)
  File "extras/pokemontools/gfx.py", line 1592, in convert_to_2bpp
    export_png_to_2bpp(filename)
  File "extras/pokemontools/gfx.py", line 1260, in export_png_to_2bpp
    image, palette, tmap = png_to_2bpp(filein, **arguments)
  File "extras/pokemontools/gfx.py", line 1329, in png_to_2bpp
    assert len(palette) <= 4, 'Palette should be 4 colors, is really %d' % len(palette)
AssertionError: Palette should be 4 colors, is really 7
Makefile:79: recipe for target 'red/main.o' failed
make: *** [red/main.o] Error 1

Offline

#7 2015-02-19 18:20:08

Danny-E 33
Administrator
Registered: 2012-06-09
Post 854/1,023

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

That's in-part a fault with gfx.py. It doesn't report the filename of the problem-file.


Red Hack: Pokémon Prototype

Total number of registered users: 7000+
Total number of active users: ~12

Offline

#8 2015-02-19 19:38:31

~Red
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 200/276

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Ok now it's telling me this:

Section 'bank13' is too big

Offline

#9 2015-02-19 21:00:57

Danny-E 33
Administrator
Registered: 2012-06-09
Post 855/1,023

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Self explanatory. You tried to stuff more than $4000 of data in bank $13.

Assuming you're getting this error because you tried editing the trainer pics, this one's a bit tricky.

The bank of each trainer pic is always determined by the bank of TrainerPics.
So if you ran out of room in that bank, you should move every trainer pic and that label to an empty bank (by creating a new SECTION with an unused bank number).
Hopefully this won't break anything. (highly doubtful)


Red Hack: Pokémon Prototype

Total number of registered users: 7000+
Total number of active users: ~12

Offline

#10 2015-02-19 21:36:40

~Red
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 201/276

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Danny-E 33 wrote:

Self explanatory. You tried to stuff more than $4000 of data in bank $13.

Assuming you're getting this error because you tried editing the trainer pics, this one's a bit tricky.

The bank of each trainer pic is always determined by the bank of TrainerPics.
So if you ran out of room in that bank, you should move every trainer pic and that label to an empty bank (by creating a new SECTION with an unused bank number).
Hopefully this won't break anything. (highly doubtful)


So pick a bank which isn't present in main.asm? I take it this isn't as simple as just changing the bank number in the file?

EDIT: I should really just trust in myself!! Managed to get it to work following your instructions. Thank you so much for your help, and for the graphics patch for red!!

uyJ6q.jpg

Last edited by ~Red (2015-02-19 21:54:10)

Offline

#11 2015-02-20 02:24:05

~Red
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 203/276

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Ok so it's not all bells and whistles, for some reason the rival sprite works fine on the intro, but in the first battle it shows the sprite of a youngster? Any ideas why?

EDIT: Probably something to do with the fact the sprites would not fit in one bank, I've put as much as I can into one bank but Lance's sprite doesn't fit so it is put into the next bank. When it comes to Lance's battle in the future, how do I reference a pic from a different bank?

Last edited by ~Red (2015-02-20 02:42:47)

Offline

#12 2015-02-20 03:40:38

Danny-E 33
Administrator
Registered: 2012-06-09
Post 856/1,023

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Danny-E 33 wrote:

The bank of each trainer pic is always determined by the bank of TrainerPics.
So if you ran out of room in that bank, you should move every trainer pic and that label to an empty bank

All trainer pics must be in the same bank.

(or you could edit how trainer pics are loaded.. not worth it though)


Red Hack: Pokémon Prototype

Total number of registered users: 7000+
Total number of active users: ~12

Offline

#13 2015-02-20 04:50:21

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 530/673

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

~Red wrote:

So pick a bank which isn't present in main.asm? I take it this isn't as simple as just changing the bank number in the file?

Better yet, just take out the bank part completely.

SECTION "whatever", ROMX

Offline

#14 2015-02-20 12:52:50

~Red
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 204/276

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Danny-E 33 wrote:
Danny-E 33 wrote:

The bank of each trainer pic is always determined by the bank of TrainerPics.
So if you ran out of room in that bank, you should move every trainer pic and that label to an empty bank

All trainer pics must be in the same bank.

(or you could edit how trainer pics are loaded.. not worth it though)

But lance's pic too big to fit into one bank, I'll have to rewrite some of the trainer pic assembly later.

Offline

#15 2015-02-20 15:16:21

Danny-E 33
Administrator
Registered: 2012-06-09
Post 857/1,023

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Approximately 50 compressed pics fit in one bank. There are already 45 trainer pics in that bank, and they're all 7x7 so they could be bigger on average.

If you're sure that you separated the trainer pics from the other data that's in the same bank (battle center and trade center maps, and some engine code) (i.e. after the last trainer pic, put "SECTION "Battle/Trader Center", ROMX" or something similar), then yes, you should rewrite _LoadTrainerPic. The simplest way would probably be to have it get the bank number from a table of bank numbers based on trainer id.


Red Hack: Pokémon Prototype

Total number of registered users: 7000+
Total number of active users: ~12

Offline

#16 2015-02-21 12:50:08

~Red
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 206/276

Re: Trouble with Cygwin....

Danny-E 33 wrote:

Approximately 50 compressed pics fit in one bank. There are already 45 trainer pics in that bank, and they're all 7x7 so they could be bigger on average.

If you're sure that you separated the trainer pics from the other data that's in the same bank (battle center and trade center maps, and some engine code) (i.e. after the last trainer pic, put "SECTION "Battle/Trader Center", ROMX" or something similar), then yes, you should rewrite _LoadTrainerPic. The simplest way would probably be to have it get the bank number from a table of bank numbers based on trainer id.

Well I get that same compile error with Lance's pic included in the bank, if I put it in it's own bank then I don't, which immediately makes me think that my pics must be quite large even when compressed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB