Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-07-17 00:12:48

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 810/3,578

Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Hello all, here is a much easier way to edit the title screen (Adapted from another tutorial originally posted by MeanMrMustard back in the day). This method preserves the flying Pokemon image, so you can edit it separately, it doesn't require you to completely redraw the entire tilemap, and is good for those of you who don't feel the need to COMPLETELY redo the titlescreen, but would still like it to be customized and show your version name and the like. Let's get started.

You will need:
- Pokemon Gold Rom
- Hex Editor
- Pointer Calculator
- Paint program (NOTE! The version of Paint that ships with newer versions of Windows will not work properly because it destroys indexed palette assignments. You would want the Windows XP version of Paint, or some other graphic program like photoshop that will correctly save an indexed image)
- TLP or AGIXP 4.11
- The .bmp file attached at the bottom of this post.

Step 1:

Take the image I've attached, and edit it in your paint program to have the proper Version name and copyright name. I've gone ahead and labeled which spaces those go in with some placeholder text. You can change whatever else you like as well, for example you could change the clouds to be tree tops or something, whatever. If you change it to something else, you will want to edit the pallet for that part of the screen so it will match, but you get the idea. Once you're done, save it and you're ready to move on.


Step 2:

In this step, we will be inserting that new graphic for the titlescreen. What you want to do is open your rom in TLP, and find some blank space between 0x98BF0 and 0x995F0 where we can import an image. In this tutorial, we will be placing it at 0x98BF0. So when you are at your location, simply go to "Edit" then "Import Bitmap" and tell it to load the image that was attached to this post, and save it.

Alternately, you could insert the image with AGIXP instead. To insert it with AGIXP, you would un-check the box for Pokemon/Trainer Inserting, tell it the offset you found earlier, and make sure to tell it the image is Horizontal.


Originally the image was compressed in a vanilla ROM, but it doesn't actually have to be. The TLP method bypasses the compression and makes it easier to edit the graphic later if you needed to. Using AGIXP takes up less space in the rom, but makes it potentially more annoying to edit the titlescreen image later if you need to.


Step 3:

Now that the image is inserted, open your rom in the hex editor and go to 0x62C0. You will see "21 00 40". This is the pointer to the old graphics. Well, we want it to point to our new graphics instead, so we will replace the pointer. The pointer to our address is 26 F0 4B, but we only need the last 2 bytes of that. So change the bytes at 62C0 to read "21 F0 4B". Now it will point to the new graphics we inserted! Let's go ahead and save it.


Step 4:

Congratulations! You just edited the titlescreen, with minimal ASM editing and without having to spend ages in a hex editor manually redrawing your title screen!

At some point, I'll try to explain the proper way to repoint and edit the bird as well.

Here is the link to the image to insert:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2biu0dbbb01xr … e.bmp?dl=0


*Edited on 24 December 2015. Gave a new link to the image, and re-worded the tutorial a bit to hopefully make it clearer.

Last edited by Mateo (2015-12-25 00:12:13)

Offline

#2 2011-07-17 05:28:35

amvz08
Member
From: Philippines
Registered: 2011-06-27
Post 66/600

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

do also a tutorial for changing moves' animation.hehe thanks.


Trust me, I'm an Engineer

>>>Pinoy ka ba? Pasok ka dito<<<

Offline

#3 2011-07-17 06:04:14

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 811/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

I was thinking they were uncompressed like in Red. I looked through TLP though and I guess they must be compressed. I have no idea how to edit them then. I've never had a need to.

Offline

#4 2011-08-17 07:38:44

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 916/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Yeah, it definitely seems to just be shifted out of place somehow, but other than that its correct. I'll look back over that tomorrow after class and see if I may have typed something incorrectly in the example.

Offline

#5 2011-08-18 07:29:15

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 919/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Sorry, I haven't had a chance to really check this out yet, but I'll definitely have time tomorrow. Tuesdays and Thursdays are my slack days, when I am only taking 1 class, so I will have plenty of time to scope out the answer to this problem, get you squared away, and update the tutorial to reflect the new information. I would do it now, but its 2:30 am and I have class tomorrow, but didn't want you to think I had completely forgotten, or just posted something never intending to follow up on it.

Offline

#6 2011-08-20 18:47:57

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 923/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Ok! I figured out what the problem was. I made a mistake when exporting the image. I fixed it, and it should work alright now. I've attached a sendspace link with the updated graphics to the first post.

Using the new image and following the tutorial should leave you with this titlescreen:

neweq.png


As you can see, it is the same as the normal Gold version titlescreen, only without the version name.

Last edited by Mateo (2011-08-20 18:51:47)

Offline

#7 2011-11-07 00:37:24

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 55/649

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Nice tut. But can you explain how we could have more than one image inserted?

I'm trying to put Red and Green into the titlescreen. Red on the right and Green on the left. Maybe even a Pokemon in the middle.

Thanks...


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#8 2011-12-16 16:42:54

Kuroko Aizawa
Member
Registered: 2011-12-01
Post 58/499

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

What offsets would I need to use for a titlescreen in Crystal if all I want to edit for the time being is the gamefreak logo?

Thanks,
Pia Carrot

Offline

#9 2012-01-22 23:03:59

hacker
Member
From: Batam Grove City
Registered: 2011-07-30
Post 79/548
Website

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

@Mateo,when I go to $98BF0,then import the bitmap,after that open my rom in hex editor(I'am using Goldfinger),Go to $62C0 and change "21 00 40" to "21 F0 4B", Why the title screen is disappear?(The title is looks like blank screen),Why?
Pleasse answer..,


[POKÉMON JOURNEY] hacking planning 2012
Visit my website  www.pokemonhackingblog.blogspot.com

Offline

#10 2012-01-23 01:28:15

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,197/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

The mutliple images are all just parts of one image when I did it. Also I'm not sure what is going wrong I'll look into it when I'm back at my computer. Right now I'm on the blackberry. I'll try to get to that soon.

Offline

#11 2012-01-23 17:29:34

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,199/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Ok, so when you inserted the image did you use the one I linked to, or another image? Also, can you upload a screenshot of the titlescreen so I can see what it is doing?

Offline

#12 2012-01-24 08:16:32

hacker
Member
From: Batam Grove City
Registered: 2011-07-30
Post 80/548
Website

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Yes, I'am using your image


[POKÉMON JOURNEY] hacking planning 2012
Visit my website  www.pokemonhackingblog.blogspot.com

Offline

#13 2012-01-24 20:19:55

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,200/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Well, is the entire screen going completely blank or is it just not loading all of it properly? Can you please post a screenshot of what it is doing. Because changing that pointer, even if it didn't point directly to the right graphics shouldn't affect the top part of the titlescreen at all, so the entire screen should not be going blank.

Offline

#14 2012-01-25 04:46:26

hacker
Member
From: Batam Grove City
Registered: 2011-07-30
Post 81/548
Website

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

I'am sorry @Mateo,but I don't know how to insert my screenshot.
Can you explaining to insert screenshot to this site?
Pleassse answer..,


[POKÉMON JOURNEY] hacking planning 2012
Visit my website  www.pokemonhackingblog.blogspot.com

Offline

#15 2012-01-25 04:50:15

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 749/2,339

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

hacker wrote:

I'am sorry @Mateo,but I don't know how to insert my screenshot.
Can you explaining to insert screenshot to this site?
Pleassse answer..,

Check the BBCode section

Offline

#16 2012-01-25 07:21:05

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,201/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Go to a free image hosting site, such as http://imageshack.us/ for example. Upload your image there, then place a direct link to the image inside of image tags.

Offline

#17 2012-01-25 08:30:50

hacker
Member
From: Batam Grove City
Registered: 2011-07-30
Post 83/548
Website

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

@Mateo,this the screenshot :

FluxBB bbcode test

EDIT:
@Mateo, I'am trying to edit the tittle again with your step,and this is the screenshot :

FluxBB bbcode test

Do you thing this correct?

EDIT2:
@Mateo, Finally I have done to edit the title screen :D
@Mateo, can I edit the Ho..oH too?
Pleasse answer..,

Last edited by hacker (2012-01-25 08:34:39)


[POKÉMON JOURNEY] hacking planning 2012
Visit my website  www.pokemonhackingblog.blogspot.com

Offline

#18 2012-01-25 14:35:18

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,202/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

I know you can, but I don't know the offset off top of my head. I'll look it up next chance I get and let you know

Offline

#19 2012-01-27 12:37:43

hacker
Member
From: Batam Grove City
Registered: 2011-07-30
Post 87/548
Website

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

@Mateo, how do you make the SaR tittle screen?
How did the tittle is showing charmander?


[POKÉMON JOURNEY] hacking planning 2012
Visit my website  www.pokemonhackingblog.blogspot.com

Offline

#20 2012-01-27 16:45:10

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,203/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

I used the more complicated titlescreen method which is also posted here. That is not loading the normal charmander sprite from his data though, the charmander sprite was added to the graphic I inserted for the titlescreen to use, and I edited the tilemap for it to show correctly.

Offline

#21 2012-09-18 02:06:51

Stodd93
Member
From: Southern Georgia
Registered: 2012-09-15
Post 1/12
Website

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

i changed "21-00-40" to "21-f0-4b" and when it got to the titlescreen it was a frozen white screen. i changed 21-f0-4b to 26-f0-4b and i get this. what do i do?
image is in url
http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/5112 … lduc01.png


Fly like a Piodgeot, Sting like a Butterfree!

Offline

#22 2012-09-18 22:24:20

y0r124
Member
From: Anywhere.
Registered: 2012-09-12
Post 23/331
Website

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Hello, I doing this properly like you do in tutorial, but why after game freak logo or something it is, the screen are blank white, looks like the game error (cant press anything than closing it) how it is ?


my FB

Lurking somewhere here...

Offline

#23 2012-09-19 01:55:50

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,567/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

In Stodd93's case, it looks like you repointed it to a blank area, but didn't insert the image that I attached, so it has no image to load and the bottom part of the screen is blank.

As for y0r124, I don't know what would be causing that. If you did everything right, it shouldn't be doing that. When you say it looks like the game error, can you be more specific? Is the emulator telling you an error, or is the screen going white or glitchy, or what exactly is it doing?

Offline

#24 2012-09-19 07:15:00

y0r124
Member
From: Anywhere.
Registered: 2012-09-12
Post 24/331
Website

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

Mateo@ my screen blank white , and I cant press anything :/
Any help ?


my FB

Lurking somewhere here...

Offline

#25 2012-09-19 15:35:01

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,568/3,578

Re: Title Screen Editing (Easier Method)

I'm not sure honestly, I've never had anything like that happen when doing this. Which version are you modifying, and what did you change at what offsets? Just to double check everything and make sure you didn't accidentally go to the wrong location or something. If you had a backup, I would recommend going back to that, and trying it again if we can't figure it out, but it could be a careless error when changing the pointer, probably typing it in the wrong location and screwing up the routine by accidentally changing the wrong thing.

For example, in the 21 00 40, the 21 is NOT the bank, it is an ASM command. If you changed that to 26 F0 4B instead of 21 F0 4B, you would get an error because 26 is not the same command as 21. You also might want to double check that you correctly typed the offset you went to and things like that. I think this tutorial needs a re-working to clarify things better, so I'll try to get on that soon. Probably this weekend, since I have tests Thursday and Friday.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB