Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#26 2015-05-18 06:38:07

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 567/679

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

battle/core.asm

Offline

#27 2015-05-19 21:46:02

Urnighter
Member
Registered: 2015-01-17
Post 65/123

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

rgblink: Unable to load fixed ROMX section into bank $48
make: *** [pokecrystal.gbc] Error 1

Can I get this in common sense language Comet? Where do I go to fix it?

I just moved files from from PICS 9 and PICS 16 to PICS 1 which got rid of the error, but I have a feeling that wasn't a realistic solution.

Offline

#28 2015-05-19 22:58:48

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 568/679

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

Crystal does some stupid stuff with pics so the fastest way to do this at the moment is to delete everything in PICS_19 and put your stuff there. PICS_1 through 17 are full already.

Offline

#29 2015-05-20 20:07:34

Urnighter
Member
Registered: 2015-01-17
Post 66/123

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

Leafeon is purple!
That's because I replaced Jynx with it without altering normal.pal
It is...
RGB 14, 02, 15
RGB 29, 06, 19

How can I figure out the ratio of red to blue to green I need to achieve certain colors on the sprite?

Offline

#30 2015-05-20 23:09:35

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 569/679

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

comet wrote:

There's an option to generate bitmask.asm and frames.asm from multi-frame pics. I'm not sure it's exposed, so you'll need to run a python interpreter and call it:

$ python
>>> from extras.pokemontools.gfx import export_png_to_2bpp
>>> export_png_to_2bpp('gfx/pics/glaceon/front.7x7.png', palout='gfx/pics/glaceon/normal.pal', animate=True)

This will generate a palette. You can also just check by hand, any graphics program like mspaint will tell you the rgb values of a color.

Offline

#31 2015-05-21 22:38:56

Urnighter
Member
Registered: 2015-01-17
Post 67/123

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

BattleAnim_ThunderFang: ; ca3ee
anim_2gfx ANIM_GFX_CUT, ANIM_GFX_HIT
anim_obj $36, 136, 56, $98
anim_obj $36, 136, 56, $18
anim_wait 8
anim_sound $1, SFX_BITE
anim_1gfx ANIM_GFX_LIGHTNING
anim_obj $a, 136, 56, $43
anim_sound $1, SFX_THUNDER
anim_obj $2f, 152, 68, $0
anim_wait 64
anim_ret

Could I have help with this animation? When it plays the "mouth" vanishes leaving only 6 awkward teeth and some lightning bolts.

Offline

#32 2015-05-23 00:10:52

Urnighter
Member
Registered: 2015-01-17
Post 68/123

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

Is there any way to speed up default walk speed without implementing running shoes? How?
Also, how do I make it so that Kurt registers that the GS Ball is in my bag? Where?

Offline

#33 2015-05-23 05:02:34

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 3,021/3,503

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

I've been noticing some issues with new Pokemon not evolving, although others evolve fine. I've tried multiple evolution methods, yet they don't seem to work.

You can find the source of the project at https://github.com/TheFakeMateo/RedPlusPlus

I thought that might be relevant, since you can see the Pokemon's ID numbers (which aren't in the default Red sorting anymore) and that I have added a few new evolution methods. From what I have seen, evolutions work normally for old Pokémon, but I haven't currently tested extensively enough to find a "cut off point" where they stop. I know that Togepi and Sneasel are both refusing to evolve though. I'm assuming there must be some sort of limiter that I am missing. Whatever the issue is, it only seems to apply to evolutions. Pokemon all seem to learn moves normally.

Offline

#34 2015-05-23 17:56:11

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 571/679

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

dw Mon178_EvosMoves
dw Mon180_EvosMoves

Offline

#35 2015-05-23 18:38:50

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 3,022/3,503

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

D'oh! Thanks comet.

Offline

#36 2015-05-23 19:11:44

Urnighter
Member
Registered: 2015-01-17
Post 69/123

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

I attempted to increase basic walking speed by changing

StepVectors: ; 4700
; x,  y, duration, speed
; normal
db  0,  2,  8, 2
db  0, -2,  8, 2
db -2,  0,  8, 2
db  2,  0,  8, 2

and replacing all of the 2s and 8s with 4s (in order to double walking speed). However, I just wound up running straight through walls and crashing the game. What gives?

Also, anything on the Celebi event? I have th GS ball but kurt won't recognize it. Under the event where I get the gs ball it says "setevent EVENT_CAN_GIVE_GS_BALL_TO_KURT", but I guess that isn't working?

Offline

#37 2015-05-23 21:48:09

ShantyTown
Member
Registered: 2013-12-04
Post 233/344

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

Urnighter wrote:

I attempted to increase basic walking speed by changing

StepVectors: ; 4700
; x,  y, duration, speed
; normal
db  0,  2,  8, 2
db  0, -2,  8, 2
db -2,  0,  8, 2
db  2,  0,  8, 2

and replacing all of the 2s and 8s with 4s (in order to double walking speed). However, I just wound up running straight through walls and crashing the game. What gives?

Also, anything on the Celebi event? I have th GS ball but kurt won't recognize it. Under the event where I get the gs ball it says "setevent EVENT_CAN_GIVE_GS_BALL_TO_KURT", but I guess that isn't working?

I would suggest looking at how the bike works.  It's probably calling the function that advances the player's sprite twice.

Offline

#38 2015-05-23 22:58:32

Crystal_
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2012-09-16
Post 266/432
Website

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

You have to set EVENT_CAN_GIVE_GS_BALL_TO_KURT before it's checked. Or just remove the check altogether, since the game will later check if you have the gs ball in your bag as well.

Offline

#39 2015-05-24 02:21:33

Mmmmmm
Member
From: West Virginia
Registered: 2015-05-17
Post 2/259

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

So I thought I had figured out how to add a UI for the phys/spec split by finding the MoveInfoBox function and adding this to this, but the code seems to not change anything. I'm not sure if this is enough information and if it isn't I can try to give more, but I added the following code to .asm_3e6f4 in battle/core.asm:

ld a, [wPlayerMoveStruct + MOVE_ANIM]
    ld b, a
    hlcoord 6, 9
    callab GetPhysicalSpecial
    cp 0
    jr z, .physical
    cp 1
    jr z, .special
    cp 2
    jr z, .status
    call PlaceString

.physical
    db "PHY@"
.special
    db "SPE@"
.status
    db "STA@"

It's probably some dumb error since I'm not very literate with assembly, but I can't figure out why it's not writing anything in the move info box.

Last edited by Mmmmmm (2015-05-24 02:22:44)

Offline

#40 2015-05-24 02:40:40

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 437/448

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

You jump to your strings. You should try loading the address and calling PlaceString. You're lucky nothing outright crashes.

callab GetPhysicalSpecial
ld de .physical
or a
jr z .done
ld de .special
dec a
jr z .done
ld de .status
.done:
call PlaceString
ret

cYa,

Tauwasser

Offline

#41 2015-05-24 03:54:30

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 572/679

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

GetPhysicalSpecial is in the same bank.

...
    ld a, [wPlayerMoveStruct + MOVE_ANIM]
    call GetPhysicalSpecial
    ld de, .physical
    jr z, .ok
    ld de, .special
    dec a
    jr z, .ok
    ld de, .status
.ok
    hlcoord 6, 9
    call PlaceString

For future reference, the callba/callab macros expand to

callba: macro
    ld a, BANK(\1)
    ld hl, \1
    rst FarCall
endm

so using them will overwrite a and hl.

Last edited by comet (2015-05-24 04:40:37)

Offline

#42 2015-05-24 04:21:17

Mmmmmm
Member
From: West Virginia
Registered: 2015-05-17
Post 3/259

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

EDIT: The original problem in this post was a syntax error that was pointed out and fixed, so I changed this post to the current issue.

I used comet's code, and it almost works; it properly loads physical and status moves as such, but special moves are left blank.

YeKRtbX.png

Last edited by Mmmmmm (2015-05-24 04:34:18)

Offline

#43 2015-05-24 04:47:09

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 573/679

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

whoops, forgot to change one of tau's .dones to .ok

Offline

#44 2015-05-24 21:17:24

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 574/679

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

Urnighter wrote:

I attempted to increase basic walking speed by changing

StepVectors: ; 4700
; x,  y, duration, speed
; normal
db  0,  2,  8, 2
db  0, -2,  8, 2
db -2,  0,  8, 2
db  2,  0,  8, 2

and replacing all of the 2s and 8s with 4s (in order to double walking speed). However, I just wound up running straight through walls and crashing the game. What gives?

Works for me. Double check.

This will make all npcs and scripts walk at bike speed too. If this isn't desirable you could instead make the player walk at bike speed by changing STEP_WALK to STEP_BIKE in TryStep and TrySurfStep (main.asm).

Offline

#45 2015-05-24 21:32:11

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 575/679

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

Urnighter wrote:

BattleAnim_ThunderFang: ; ca3ee
anim_2gfx ANIM_GFX_CUT, ANIM_GFX_HIT
anim_obj $36, 136, 56, $98
anim_obj $36, 136, 56, $18
anim_wait 8
anim_sound $1, SFX_BITE
anim_1gfx ANIM_GFX_LIGHTNING
anim_obj $a, 136, 56, $43
anim_sound $1, SFX_THUNDER
anim_obj $2f, 152, 68, $0
anim_wait 64
anim_ret

Could I have help with this animation? When it plays the "mouth" vanishes leaving only 6 awkward teeth and some lightning bolts.

The anim_1gfx is overwriting the first slot of the anim_2gfx. Just combine them.

anim_3gfx ANIM_GFX_CUT, ANIM_GFX_HIT, ANIM_GFX_LIGHTNING

Also, this line uses the fist graphic (object $a):

anim_obj $a, 136, 56, $43

The object you're looking for is 0 (crunch) or 1 (bite).

Offline

#46 2015-05-24 23:17:43

Mmmmmm
Member
From: West Virginia
Registered: 2015-05-17
Post 4/259

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

I recently added data for the 252nd slot in Crystal, and everything seems to be fine -- Pokédex entry, battles, etc. -- except the sprite gets corrupted whenever I compress it.

q5TzxiW.png

I'm not sure what could be causing it; I let the compiler compress the .png for me. I did notice this corrupted sprite is 40x40 instead of 48x48; I replaced two duplicate sprites in Bank 19 with the front and backpic, the ones I replaced were 6x6 just like these ones, and I doublechecked to make sure my files were listed as 6x6 and not 5x5.

Offline

#47 2015-05-25 00:28:49

Urnighter
Member
Registered: 2015-01-17
Post 70/123

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

Crystal_ wrote:

You have to set EVENT_CAN_GIVE_GS_BALL_TO_KURT before it's checked. Or just remove the check altogether, since the game will later check if you have the gs ball in your bag as well.

I changed the check to just requiring you to have GS Ball in yourbag, wich seems to work, but now Kurt is stuck at his desk saying, "UnknownText_0x18e949: ; 0x18e949 "'Ah-ha! I see! So…'". I tried to trace back exactly why this was happening in the code but still don't understand. I'm not very good at this.

Also, how do I make the menu say "ABLE" when trying to evolve eevee into leafeon with a leaf stone? Everything works fine, but it still say snot able" which is annoying.

Where would I go if I wanted to cap how many stages a stat can be increased or decreased from 6 to 2?

Last edited by Urnighter (2015-05-25 00:39:56)

Offline

#48 2015-05-25 04:39:48

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 576/679

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

Mmmmmm wrote:

I recently added data for the 252nd slot in Crystal, and everything seems to be fine -- Pokédex entry, battles, etc. -- except the sprite gets corrupted whenever I compress it.

http://i.imgur.com/q5TzxiW.png

I'm not sure what could be causing it; I let the compiler compress the .png for me. I did notice this corrupted sprite is 40x40 instead of 48x48; I replaced two duplicate sprites in Bank 19 with the front and backpic, the ones I replaced were 6x6 just like these ones, and I doublechecked to make sure my files were listed as 6x6 and not 5x5.

Pokemon sprites are actually flipped to begin with. The tilemap for a regular image would usually look like:

db  0,  1,  2,  3,  4,  5
db  6,  7,  8,  9, 10, 11
db 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17
db 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23
db 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29
db 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35

But for Pokemon pics, the tilemap is inverted:

db  0,  6, 12, 18, 24, 30
db  1,  7, 13, 19, 25, 31
db  2,  8, 14, 20, 26, 32
db  3,  9, 15, 21, 27, 33
db  4, 10, 16, 22, 28, 34
db  5, 11, 17, 23, 29, 35

At the moment the graphics conversion script only knows to account for this if the filename has ".6x6" (and so on) in it. I am open to suggestions on how to make this less awful.

Last edited by comet (2015-05-25 04:40:13)

Offline

#49 2015-05-25 05:07:25

Mmmmmm
Member
From: West Virginia
Registered: 2015-05-17
Post 5/259

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

My image has the filename of front.6x6.png, so I'm not sure why it's not doing this conversion.

Or is the tilemap in a file besides front.6x6.2bpp.lz? I should note that my backsprite is perfectly fine, and that before I added Sylveon's sprite I was testing it with an Eevee's sprite (to make sure using the 252nd slot didn't crash for battles or Pokédex or anything). Would I need to change something in bitmask.asm or frames.asm to reflect this? I had assumed they were both related to animations, and I removed Sylveon's animation data so I figured the files didn't factor in and it was an issue with the front.6x6.2bpp.lz file.

Offline

#50 2015-05-25 05:16:27

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 577/679

Re: Simple Questions & Answers

Mmmmmm wrote:

I did notice this corrupted sprite is 40x40 instead of 48x48; I replaced two duplicate sprites in Bank 19 with the front and backpic, the ones I replaced were 6x6 just like these ones, and I doublechecked to make sure my files were listed as 6x6 and not 5x5.

Oh oops. There's also a byte in base stats that you have to change.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB