Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-30 12:52:18

Frezgle
Member
Registered: 2011-05-30
Post 1/23

Editing TM learnsets

Hey y'all. Noob here.
I figured out changing level-up movesets easily enough, but getting the entire TM learnset from 8 bytes seems tricky. I read in Gigue's hacking guide that it was probably 64 binary switches, which is all well and good except that it didn't elaborate on how to utilize that knowledge. : /

I tried Hack-O-Matic but it has this lovely habit of ignoring what I selected and giving Bulbasaur the ability to fly. I can't get it to see reason.

So yeah, anyone know how to work it out in hex?

Offline

#2 2011-05-30 14:54:39

tekcoR
Member
From: Celadon City
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 51/165

Re: Editing TM learnsets

It's really simple. For example, Bulbasaur's TM data starts at 0x51B23:
26 1E ...
0x26 correspondents to "00100110" (binary). This is a reversed true/false switch. Invert the digits to "01100100" and you'll get Bulbasaur's TM data for first 8 TMs:

TM01 DynamicPunch = no (0), TM02 Headbutt = yes (1), TM03 Curse = yes (1), TM04 Rollout = no (0), TM05 Roar = no (0), TM06 Toxic = yes (1), TM07 Zap Cannon = no (0), TM08 Rock Smash = no (0)

I hope you got it. Maybe a native speaker can explain it better. :)

Edit: It's by the way the same for RBY too.

Last edited by tekcoR (2011-05-30 14:54:59)


Cya

Offline

#3 2011-05-30 15:17:25

Frezgle
Member
Registered: 2011-05-30
Post 2/23

Re: Editing TM learnsets

By "invert", you mean just flip it backwards? Seems easy enough. Except now I wonder why they didn't just decide to keep it frontways o_O
But when you put it that way, it looks very simple. Thank you :3

Offline

#4 2011-05-30 15:24:28

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 140/447

Re: Editing TM learnsets

It's put in the right way, because it goes from least-significant to most-significant bit. So bit0 = TM1, bit1 = TM2 etc.

cYa,

Tauwasser

Offline

#5 2011-05-30 18:09:54

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 659/3,460

Re: Editing TM learnsets

Swampert tools also has a program to edit which techniques the TMs teach you, and which pokemon can learn which TMs

Offline

#6 2011-06-03 17:10:45

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 378/2,306

Re: Editing TM learnsets

Mateo wrote:

Swampert tools also has a program to edit which techniques the TMs teach you, and which pokemon can learn which TMs

Isn't there only one for editing which move each TM is ?
I haven't seen one that can edit what TMs each pokemon can learn.

Last edited by Miksy91 (2011-06-03 17:11:03)

Offline

#7 2011-06-04 04:21:50

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 677/3,460

Re: Editing TM learnsets

Yeah, its called TMMasterGSC or something like that. One tab is which moves the TMs teach, the other is which TMs pokemon can learn

Offline

#8 2011-06-06 18:51:05

Frezgle
Member
Registered: 2011-05-30
Post 7/23

Re: Editing TM learnsets

Yep, that's what I ended up using and it works great. I just have to make sure to do that last or avoid Hack-O-Matic entirely, since it botches everything >__>

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB