Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-31 14:36:25

ablahblah987
Member
Registered: 2013-06-24
Post 4/30

reset map data in pokemon gold?

I've been working on hack of Gold for awhile now, and I've done quite a bit in terms of editing trainers, pokemon, moves, movepools, TMs, and the like, but everything I've done to the maps has just screwed up the game. Thus I'm wondering if there's any way to reset all the map data without affecting everything else I've edited?

Offline

#2 2013-08-31 21:23:44

YORAMRW
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-03-29
Post 691/1,194
Website

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

Maybe saving the maps from the original G/S ROM as .MAP files, and importing them to the screwed up maps in your ROM Hack.


Hacks Gameboy 8-bit music in Pokémon Gen I & II, composes 8-bit music in FamiTracker

Offline

#3 2013-08-31 21:58:31

ablahblah987
Member
Registered: 2013-06-24
Post 5/30

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

Sorry to be a noob, but how would I go about doing that?

Offline

#4 2013-08-31 22:14:18

YORAMRW
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-03-29
Post 693/1,194
Website

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

ablahblah987 wrote:

Sorry to be a noob, but how would I go about doing that?

That's hard to tell, but the most G/S/C Map Editors have an "Export Map" function. Name the exporting maps you find the most useful, and replace the maps in your Hack you think they are corrupted with the right maps you exported.


Hacks Gameboy 8-bit music in Pokémon Gen I & II, composes 8-bit music in FamiTracker

Offline

#5 2013-08-31 22:32:37

ablahblah987
Member
Registered: 2013-06-24
Post 6/30

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

I think it can be done in Gold Map actually. I'll try that out. Thanks

Offline

#6 2013-09-01 06:09:11

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,877/2,311

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

You've probably "screwed":
1) Script data pointers of people events and signposts,
2) Map's script pointer or
3) Event data pointer

Importing maps won't affect a thing about the problem you're having. Though it is extremely simple to fix all that is wrong in your maps if nothing dramatic hasn't happened (the chance of this kind of a thing according to the documentation you've given is close to 0%).

Last edited by Miksy91 (2013-09-01 06:09:55)

Offline

#7 2013-09-01 19:20:23

ablahblah987
Member
Registered: 2013-06-24
Post 7/30

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

No I think it's still salvageable thankfully, but thanks for the input. I've decided I'm just going to convert the project to yet another difficulty type hack because I don't have the time or drive right now to do more than that.

Offline

#8 2013-09-01 19:33:07

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 288/674

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

what parts of the maps are messed up?

Offline

#9 2013-09-01 19:47:25

ablahblah987
Member
Registered: 2013-06-24
Post 9/30

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

I was just remapping some of the towns and routes, and in efforts to move some events from one map to another or in just editing warp spots, I somehow made the game unplayable on maybe three or four maps. It looks like I can fix things though, by importing maps, and then remaking events from a clean copy.

Last edited by ablahblah987 (2013-09-01 19:48:11)

Offline

#10 2013-09-01 20:17:12

YORAMRW
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-03-29
Post 703/1,194
Website

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

That's logic. Pokémon GSC has a very stupid warp system, which requires that you set the place in the map you warped to on the right coordinates in both maps.


Hacks Gameboy 8-bit music in Pokémon Gen I & II, composes 8-bit music in FamiTracker

Offline

#11 2013-09-02 05:53:37

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 291/674

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

TheMoneyOfTheWorld wrote:

That's logic. Pokémon GSC has a very stupid warp system, which requires that you set the place in the map you warped to on the right coordinates in both maps.

if not for that, youd have to do it 4 times

Offline

#12 2013-09-02 16:59:04

Crystal_
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2012-09-16
Post 85/421
Website

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

I suppose you edited maps with goldmap. In that case, i've never used goldmap myself, but I've used crystalmap lots of times and I have the experience that it sometimes causes bugs related to changing the number of person events or editing the flag of some person events. As I understand from the term "unplayable" I would suppose that the bugs you have caused are more advanced than a simple missed block, as Miksy said. If that's the case, you don't need to reset any map itself, just the map event data.
I suggest you open your bugged ROM and a fresh Gold ROM in two separated hex editors and head in both of them to where the map event data of one of the maps you screwed is located, then copy the map event data from the Gold ROM to your bugged ROM. Do that for each of the 3-4 maps you said that are bugged.

Offline

#13 2013-09-02 18:03:26

ablahblah987
Member
Registered: 2013-06-24
Post 11/30

Re: reset map data in pokemon gold?

Thanks for the input guys. I just changed the number of events to how they originally were set, and then imported .map files from a clean game, and it works fine again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB