Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#76 2011-05-30 18:08:33

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 658/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

Nice!

Also when you say "the correct numbers to insert the title screen" what do you mean exactly?


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

#77 2011-05-31 06:06:16

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 128/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

xx yy zz.

Offline

#78 2011-05-31 07:10:39

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 662/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

That doesn't really answer my question mate. Are you wanting to know where the graphics are for the title screen, where the tile arrangement is, etc.


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

#79 2011-05-31 09:08:42

Cloud
Member
Registered: 2010-12-18
Post 248/302

Re: Pokémon Floral

Nice update you made Cheestendo.

Offline

#80 2011-05-31 09:26:59

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 132/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

@cloud thanks!
@mateo ..

Here's what you wrote in the Gold titlescreen editing tut.
''remember the offset of the blank space? get the 3 byte pointer, and you should end up with something like 290040 or something. If you don't know how to calculate pointers by hand, use a pointer calculator. I use Pointerberechner but you can use whichever you like.

Now open your rom in a hex editor and go to 0x62b0 and type 21 xx yy 11 00 88  3E zz CD F0 0A  - xxyy is the last 2 bytes of the pointer e.g. 0040 and zz is the 1st e.g. 29''

-----------------------------------
i need you to calculate my xx yy zz , and my offset is - 0xD86C1 - please help :)

Offline

#81 2011-05-31 14:39:36

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 663/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

xx yy -> C1 46
zz -> 36


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

#82 2011-05-31 15:55:18

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 133/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

Thank you , when ill be done with the titlescreen i will update.

Edit:
have i done something wrong again?????

nk46iu7tc1nc21h1o4g.png

Last edited by Cheestendo (2011-05-31 16:00:21)

Offline

#83 2011-05-31 17:57:33

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 665/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

I'm not sure. What did the image you inserted look like?


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

#84 2011-06-01 07:42:30

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 135/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

x5chg6kizk2uorhb1n.bmp

Offline

#85 2011-06-01 14:44:46

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 668/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

Gotcha. That is more colors than one image can contain, and more individual tiles than the game can load at once. I guess I didn't explain very well in the tutorial. You can't draw the entire title screen as one image and insert it that way, gamefreak didn't do that either. You have to insert a graphic that contains the tiles you will make it from, and then edit the tile arrangement so that it will look right. For example, here is the image inserted to make the title screen for Secrets and Rumours:

sard.png

As you can see, this does not immediately look like a title screen on its own, it is just the parts, like you would do with a tileset. However, once we edit the tile arrangement and edit the pallets, we get this:

redremake1.png

Also, the way that Nintendo got the bird to me more colours than the background is because they loaded it separately. The re-written code for the titlescreen does not support the animated bird graphics, so having a pokemon that is its own pallet on top of a differently colored background overlapping like that will give you problems, as tiles look like they will end up requiring more than 4 colours to load correctly. But we'll figure something out.


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

#86 2011-06-02 08:37:41

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 137/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

So i have to make a Titlescreen tileset? with the 128 x 96 ?
like you did there? and why do you how some of the unknowns in the tileset down there?


edit: so i made something like that///
mvjcic149oqqml3elvds.png

Last edited by Cheestendo (2011-06-02 11:26:56)

Offline

#87 2011-06-02 14:57:01

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 671/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

The unowns are just leftover tiles. Originally the titlescreen had the word "Skeetendo" in Unowns on it but this was taken out.

That should work. Just remember to make sure only 4 colours are used in the image before you insert it. The others we'll fix by messing with the different pallets on the titlescreen once it's arranged.


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

#88 2011-06-03 09:50:56

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 138/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

unsupported rom size 45... nothing is clearly working out.....

Offline

#89 2011-06-03 15:45:53

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 675/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

for it to say unsupported rom size, something would have to be up with the header. That seems like either you accidentally inserted to the wrong location, or maybe managed to export to a new gbc file by typing the filename wrong or something. Hard to say though. Is the rom the same filesize, around 2mb?


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

#90 2011-06-03 17:11:53

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 139/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

yes it's straight 2mb.

edit: i fixed the problem , but how can i delete the animation in the ho-oh and the clouds?

Last edited by Cheestendo (2011-06-03 17:19:43)

Offline

#91 2011-06-04 04:19:38

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 676/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

Let's see... I was thinking that it would be deleted by doing it this way. If not, try looking at which tiles are animating and just re-arrange it to make them blank (not really fixing it right, but making it unnoticeable)


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

#92 2011-06-04 12:31:15

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 140/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

i don't understand , what did mean my that? i have to just make them background tile? but it will still move wont it? ...

Offline

#93 2011-06-04 13:38:31

tekcoR
Member
From: Celadon City
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 52/165

Re: Pokémon Floral

You have to make the tiles blank/transparent. It's still in there but you won't see it because it is "invisible".


Cya

Offline

#94 2011-06-04 14:16:37

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 141/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

oh ok.but then where should i put the fakemon in ? if i put it there , wont it move?

Offline

#95 2011-06-04 21:45:27

tekcoR
Member
From: Celadon City
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 53/165

Re: Pokémon Floral

As I can tell from Mateos post your fakemon is part of the "background". So nothing should move. But we should wait for Mateo.


Cya

Offline

#96 2011-06-04 23:50:42

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 679/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

As it is part of the background, it should not move like ho-oh does.


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

#97 2011-06-05 11:07:23

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 142/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

yeah i actually understood myself , and i got another problem , sorry for Bigness.
nwx4p57p86limuvg8uho.png
no idea whats wrong , i got already half written down. and i can't seem to find where is the down part ? half of the fakemon , the cheesetendo thing and all.

Last edited by Cheestendo (2011-06-05 11:07:46)

Offline

#98 2011-06-05 16:14:45

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 681/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

Well the part you have made that is not lining up is due to the awkward way the game does the tile map. If you look at it in Gold, you will see that it does not simply fill up one row at a time on the visible part of the screen only, but rather extends beyond the visible part of the screen before starting the next line. I had forgotten about this, or I would have pointed it out earlier. I hope this helps.


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

#99 2011-06-05 19:56:58

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 144/319

Re: Pokémon Floral

what about the A , RA's. cause i got written down the whole fakemon.. but it dont appear and it still moves.. it's still the same ho-oh thing.
and as i see for myself the first row is fully correct , how then can the other rows don't be wrong?

Offline

#100 2011-06-05 20:15:48

Mateo
Member
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 682/3,661

Re: Pokémon Floral

The first row is correct, because the extra tiles are added to the end of the first row before the second row starts. Since the extra tiles are not present, the second row is displayed off the screen, and then the second visible row is shown as being later tiles. I'll open up SaR or Sterling Silver and see how many tiles and try to explain it better. Also, I believe I have it written down how to kill the bird from loading, so I'll let you know about that as well.

EDIT: Assuming I counted correctly, you need to pad the end of each line with 11 (decimal) bytes of just blank tiles or whatever before starting the next line of the title screen for it to show correctly. For example, here is VBA's dump of the tile map in regular gold. As you can see, the titlescreen extends beyond the viewable part, and most of this is unused, with the exception of the clouds because they scroll past.

mapvn.png

Last edited by Mateo (2011-06-05 22:12:15)


I am not very active on this forum. I only pop in from time to time.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB