Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#26 2013-02-26 14:50:01

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 295/410

Re: Midi->GSC

Before you even posted this, I had already tried this, but it didn't work when inserted into the ROM.  The ASM file made by your MIDI program shows the loop markers in the right place but when inserted into the ROM and viewed with a hex editor, the loop command and pointer look like this for me:

Channel 1: "FD XX 00 20"
Channel 2: "FD XX 00 40"
Channel 3: "FD XX 00 60"

XX = Random byte that is always different.

I don't think I did anything wrong, do you have in suggestions?

Last edited by Munchulax (2013-02-26 15:17:31)


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#27 2013-02-26 15:05:29

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 144/521

Re: Midi->GSC

That is totally wrong.
Fd 00 xx yy not just fd 00 xx.

Xx yy - 2byte pointer for the start of the of channel notes (c,c# and so on)


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#28 2013-02-26 15:17:56

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 296/410

Re: Midi->GSC

Ah, thanks for correcting me on that, I just typed it wrong.


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#29 2013-02-26 15:24:01

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 147/521

Re: Midi->GSC

Your welcome.

Edit:
don't use the looping command of anvil, because it will never know where will you inserting the asm, so the best way is do it manually.

Last edited by RED (2013-02-26 15:32:58)


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#30 2013-02-27 00:10:34

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 104/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

Please put the address you are inserting the song into the rom here:
sfAHULE.png
Then when you compile it to a bin, it will loop correctly
Of course, replace the number, don't use the one shown in the picture

Last edited by FroggestSpirit (2013-02-27 00:11:43)


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#31 2013-02-27 14:31:45

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 155/521

Re: Midi->GSC

I don't know if it was just me, but the loudness of song that i converted and inserted are too low?
How can i improve the volume?


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#32 2013-02-27 16:31:11

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 105/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

By changing the envelope of instruments.
Usually i use Bx for pulse 1 (harmony)
Cx for pulse 2 (main melody)
and 1x for wave channel (1x is full volume, 2x is half)


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#33 2013-02-27 23:59:45

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 156/521

Re: Midi->GSC

FroggestSpirit wrote:

By changing the envelope of instruments.
Usually i use Bx for pulse 1 (harmony)
Cx for pulse 2 (main melody)
and 1x for wave channel (1x is full volume, 2x is half)

Honestly i don't know where i could can find it. Can you tell me where?

Sorry if i keep asking you a question.


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#34 2013-02-28 02:57:35

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 108/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

Same way as looping, but instead of typing [ or ] you type:
E,X,Y
E- is always E, as it is the envelope command
X-is the initial volume 0-15 (needs to be in dec format, not hex)
Y-is the fade (0 and 8 dont fade, 1-7 fade to mute, 9-15 fade to a louder volume)
Note that these commands are all ones i made up, so they are all just cue's in Anvil studio, and the different commands are in the readme
Hope it helps!
Also, all commands that start with a letter, need to be capitalized

Last edited by FroggestSpirit (2013-02-28 02:58:15)


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#35 2013-03-01 00:14:02

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 302/410

Re: Midi->GSC

Here's I video of something I just threw together showing Pokemon Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald's Elite Four Battle Music in Pokemon Gold.  It would have been thrown together much quicker if didn't spend so much time trying to figure out how to loop the music.

http://youtu.be/fi_NIXKQOEk

Last edited by Munchulax (2013-03-01 00:15:06)


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#36 2013-03-02 00:27:07

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 176/260
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

Question, why do you upload your things on AnonFiles? I mean nothing wrong with it, but it seems when I am connected to the Internet down where I am, I can never download anything, however today I was able to download off there on my college's network connection to the Internet. I seem to be having problems downloading from here for some reason, I never had that problem before.

Offline

#37 2013-03-02 04:13:53

emaj30
Member
From: Indigo Plateau
Registered: 2012-12-29
Post 326/463
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

RPD490 wrote:

Question, why do you upload your things on AnonFiles? I mean nothing wrong with it, but it seems when I am connected to the Internet down where I am, I can never download anything, however today I was able to download off there on my college's network connection to the Internet. I seem to be having problems downloading from here for some reason, I never had that problem before.

It depends solely on your ISP I guess. Maybe your current ISP don't allow AnonFiles to access their servers while your college's network does. You can use a proxy  to bypass their restrictions. Like this one.

Last edited by emaj30 (2013-03-02 04:43:40)

Offline

#38 2013-03-02 16:27:44

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 178/260
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

Oh thanks XD

Offline

#39 2013-03-03 02:24:23

emaj30
Member
From: Indigo Plateau
Registered: 2012-12-29
Post 330/463
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

You're welcome:) Hope it helped.

Offline

#40 2013-03-04 01:03:25

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 180/260
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

Im likely gonna fail at this XD So badly, but never hurts to try it out, even if this has to be the most complex type of hacking on my end.

Offline

#41 2013-03-04 02:33:56

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 119/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

When you get the hang of it, it becomes one of those things that are easy, but the quality is based on the time you spend on it. I keep all my midi and ASM files for the songs, in case i ever want to go back and touch them up.


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#42 2013-03-05 22:44:13

Gallego13
Member
Registered: 2011-12-11
Post 85/94

Re: Midi->GSC

I've just found out that the explaination about tempo on the .txt might be somehow incorrect, but I can't find the way it actually works.
I tried to insert Cave Story's theme, whose tempo is 108, but when I try to change it in hex from DA 00 70 to DA 00 6C, it doesn't do anything, it sounds the same as it did before. DA 60 C0 seems to fit, but the song stops at random moments for a couple of seconds and then it continues playing until it stops again.
¿Any thoughts? I've ran out of ideas...

Offline

#43 2013-03-05 23:35:36

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 175/521

Re: Midi->GSC

DA 00 70 to DA 00 6c actually it doesn't have any changes.
DA 00 XX -
keep in your mind that the highier the value, the slower the song.

FroggestSpirit wrote:

Same way as looping, but instead of typing [ or ] you type:
E,X,Y
E- is always E, as it is the envelope command
X-is the initial volume 0-15 (needs to be in dec format, not hex)
Y-is the fade (0 and 8 dont fade, 1-7 fade to mute, 9-15 fade to a louder volume)
Note that these commands are all ones i made up, so they are all just cue's in Anvil studio, and the different commands are in the readme
Hope it helps!
Also, all commands that start with a letter, need to be capitalized

can you show example by screenshot?


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#44 2013-03-06 02:27:56

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 123/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

if you want to change the envelope to D4, you would type in the cue
E,13,4
if it says one exists with that name, you could type this
E,13,4,anything
and for the tempo, its actually still DA XXXX
so DA 01 70 is slower than DA 00 70


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#45 2013-03-06 18:00:32

Gallego13
Member
Registered: 2011-12-11
Post 86/94

Re: Midi->GSC

Ok, so the first XX is some kind of "delay" value which decreases the tempo a lot and the second XX is not the tempo's hex value, but something else that makes the tempo slower the higher the value is.
Thanks to both of you, that worked for me :D

PS: Froggest, I'd suggest you to change the GBC Music Format.txt, because it says that the second XX is the Hex value of the tempo, which has been proven wrong and can make other people to fall in the same mistake I did.

Offline

#46 2013-03-06 18:31:20

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 126/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

It still is tempo, it's just not Beats Per Minute, like people are used to tempo meaning


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#47 2013-03-06 20:30:19

Gallego13
Member
Registered: 2011-12-11
Post 87/94

Re: Midi->GSC

My fail then, sorry ;)

Offline

#48 2013-03-23 14:41:36

Kerssy
New member
Registered: 2013-03-23
Post 1/8
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

Whenever I inject a song it never works...  How am I supposed to find out the offset to inject? Also, it says to inject a R/B ROM (.gbc) but those games are .gb so I cannot open them.  If I inject into Gold or Crystal it says "Unsupported ROM size 35" each time I open those ROMs afterwards...

I've always wanted to do this, to put custom music on RBY/GSC but there's always something stopping me. :(

Last edited by Kerssy (2013-03-23 14:42:02)


Who saves the weak from the man who saves the weak?

Offline

#49 2013-03-23 15:52:59

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 260/396

Re: Midi->GSC

Kerssy wrote:

Whenever I inject a song it never works...  How am I supposed to find out the offset to inject? Also, it says to inject a R/B ROM (.gbc) but those games are .gb so I cannot open them.  If I inject into Gold or Crystal it says "Unsupported ROM size 35" each time I open those ROMs afterwards...

What makes you think this works with RBY?

Offline

#50 2013-03-23 18:27:03

Kerssy
New member
Registered: 2013-03-23
Post 2/8
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

Vitharix wrote:
Kerssy wrote:

Whenever I inject a song it never works...  How am I supposed to find out the offset to inject? Also, it says to inject a R/B ROM (.gbc) but those games are .gb so I cannot open them.  If I inject into Gold or Crystal it says "Unsupported ROM size 35" each time I open those ROMs afterwards...

What makes you think this works with RBY?

It says to inject a R/B ROM...  But Red and Blue are .gb not .gbc...  So that is a mistake I guess...  But my main problems are the "Unsupported ROM size 35" error message, and what offsets to inject.

Last edited by Kerssy (2013-03-23 18:28:20)


Who saves the weak from the man who saves the weak?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB