Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-20 05:24:32

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 94/300
Website

Midi->GSC

Read how to use.
It basically converts a midi file to a GSC music file, although you'll need to edit the ASM for it to sound good.
YOU NEED TO EDIT THE MIDI IN ANVIL STUDIO AS INSTRUCTED.
https://anonfiles.com/file/683a8f4607a0 … 40d8d742ac
I might update this, or someone else can, because the GM source is there.

NEW VERSION! version 1.barelyabove0
it has a lot of new things, and the program would be sad if you don't try it.

Here's some songs from HG/SS I converted (songs 103-106)
https://anonfiles.com/file/f31f33cf1080 … d48d3a4a08

Last edited by FroggestSpirit (2013-02-22 13:00:01)


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#2 2013-02-20 07:33:31

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,528/2,339

Re: Midi->GSC

Awesome, totally!
I'll try this out right away when I get a chance to.

What does "edit the ASM" there refers to by the way?

Offline

#3 2013-02-20 07:42:40

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,338/3,578

Re: Midi->GSC

I've gotta say, if this works, it sounds great! I'll try it out as well.

Offline

#4 2013-02-20 15:28:55

Gallego13
Member
Registered: 2011-12-11
Post 83/94

Re: Midi->GSC

It works perfectly, I've tried with 3 midis so far, and all of them sounded awesome.
Pointers must be arranged manually, but it's quite easy.
I'm looking forward to new versions of this tool, but you've already made me happy with this one anyway.

Offline

#5 2013-02-20 16:37:57

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 95/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

I'm really glad to hear that it's working good for people! I'm trying to think of ways to improve this, because as far as I know, FL studio doesnt support tagging, or markers. my original plan was to be able to insert markers to activate commands like vibrato, etc.


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#6 2013-02-20 16:52:12

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 601/649

Re: Midi->GSC

Final Fantasy 7 battle theme anyone? :P


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#7 2013-02-20 17:10:28

Gallego13
Member
Registered: 2011-12-11
Post 84/94

Re: Midi->GSC

@tysonrss not yet, but I'll try that one soon alongside "Clash on the Big Bridge" from FFV and Cyrus' battle theme from D/P.

Midis working so far:
-Bloody Tears (Castlevania)
-Lost Woods (Zelda OOT)
-Ballad of the Windfish (Zelda LA)
-Vs. Cypher Admin* (Pokémon Colosseum)
-Piggy Guys (Mother 3)
-Live and Learn (Sonic Adventure 2)

*Cypher Admins' battle theme sounds a little bit empty at some points without the drums.
This tool makes me feel like a liitle kid with a new toy, I can't stop importing tracks :D

Offline

#8 2013-02-20 17:37:03

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,529/2,339

Re: Midi->GSC

Sorry, it was not like I had to be the first to "insert" it but I did it earlier today.
Here you go, some "unedited" version of FFV Clash on the Big Bridge: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ia6zC5FNkQA

Offline

#9 2013-02-20 18:50:53

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 602/649

Re: Midi->GSC

It sounds okay haha. But definitely is cool to see what can come of all kinds of converted tracks.

One winged angel...I wonder how that would sound... And the battle themes of FF8. lol I would try it but I'm lazy.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#10 2013-02-21 03:58:55

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 96/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

lol, well, I'm going to release the next version. I want everyone to know that they need to edit the midi to make it sound good.


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#11 2013-02-21 04:34:32

stag019
Idea Killer
Registered: 2011-01-05
Post 366/630

Re: Midi->GSC

Froggy:
Do you plan on releasing the source code so someone could try to rewrite it in some sort of reasonable language? Also, could you maybe give an example midi and what to edit to make it sound good?

Edit: [23:14:25] <FroggestSpirit> I'll include an example song

Reading IRC helps.

Last edited by stag019 (2013-02-21 04:35:54)


You can try to hide yourself in this world of pretend; when the paper's crumpled up, it can't be perfect again.

Offline

#12 2013-02-21 07:00:02

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,532/2,339

Re: Midi->GSC

FroggestSpirit wrote:

lol, well, I'm going to release the next version. I want everyone to know that they need to edit the midi to make it sound good.

Liking this post :)

By the way, how does the program (MidiReader) work exactly? I would assume it imports the first three channels of the midi file (later four if you happen to improve it to do that) and makes an gsc music file out of it.

Also; MidiReader only supports midi-files of certain type. For some (or maybe even most) midi files, it gives an error report: "Midi Track not valid?" along with

ERROR in
action number 1
of  Step Event
for object object0:

File is not opened.

Any ideas what this is about? While looking for that Final Fantasy V  "theme", I ran into several other midis also of that game but only 30% of them MidiReader recognized or so.

Maybe it's just me but I really don't know anything about different music formats and their specifics.

Last edited by Miksy91 (2013-02-21 07:01:42)

Offline

#13 2013-02-21 16:14:58

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 97/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

I updated the new version, and it works a lot differently. if you got the download before this post was made, re-download it please. There is a few changes, and it's actually the 3rd version I uploaded. I did not explain the drum channel, but I included an extra example with it, so im sure you guys can figure it out.


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#14 2013-02-22 12:48:16

Kuroko Aizawa
Member
Registered: 2011-12-01
Post 299/499

Re: Midi->GSC

Very awesome, will gladly check this out later when I have access to my laptop.

Offline

#15 2013-02-22 12:59:22

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 98/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

Red, try the newest version, and keep in mind you need to edit the midi.


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#16 2013-02-22 14:36:39

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 124/521

Re: Midi->GSC

FroggestSpirit wrote:

Red, try the newest version, and keep in mind you need to edit the midi.

what do you mean ,to edit the midi.?
Do i need to edit something on the midi file.?


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#17 2013-02-22 17:18:55

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 99/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

As stated in the Readme file, you need to save each channel as it's own Format - 0 midi. This can be done in Anvil Studio.
Delete all tracks you dont want as pulse 1, and save the midi as like... (song name)1
repeat this for the other channels.
The channel numbers used in the midi will refer to the pulse duty for pulses, and waveform for waves (see the example ones, load them in anvil studio)
When converting, hit cancel when it asks to load a channel that you arnt going to use.


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#18 2013-02-23 17:22:18

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 126/521

Re: Midi->GSC

So far 2 out of 23 works at my midi.
But i was amazed with the result, even you need to edit the loop manually, that's no big deal. But i hate the fact that i don't have drums? Thats why some part of the the music are muted. I wish you (or someone) organize the tool so that , drum will able to hear. (Because the last time i made a tool are when i was 12 yrs old thats why my knowledge about programing flew out my mind.:))
and what i can say, is that this tool are AWESOME.


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#19 2013-02-24 02:16:44

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 100/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

you can do drums, and looping in anvil studio. look at the cerulean city example


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#20 2013-02-25 01:16:35

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 290/410

Re: Midi->GSC

For some reason I can't find anything to do with loops in the Cerulean City example.

And does the readme mean to press [ and ] to set loop points?  'Cause that doesn't seem to work for me.


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#21 2013-02-25 01:26:33

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 131/521

Re: Midi->GSC

After converting midi file to asm and inserted at rom, you just need manually , replace "FF"(end of song)to FD 00 xx yy (loop)


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#22 2013-02-25 03:45:58

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 101/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

To do loops: In anvil studio, click where you want the loop to start, click new cue, call the cue [
then click where you want it to end, new cue, call it ]
its the same idea as any other command in there, like setting envelope, but you just put [ to define the start of a loop, and ] to define the end


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

#23 2013-02-25 04:06:00

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 291/410

Re: Midi->GSC

Wow, I interpreted the word "cue" differently and that's why I couldn't get it.

Thanks :P.

Last edited by Munchulax (2013-02-25 04:07:20)


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#24 2013-02-26 08:18:16

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 137/521

Re: Midi->GSC

Hey, this anvil studio is great.

Though i don't really get how to use loop on anvil, so im changing manually at hex editor.

To anyone there having trouble on doing good sound, try this way i did.
File>open song
delete all tracks that won't be needed.
Just leave 3 tracks then save as (file name) then
File>export midi-format 0 file...>choose the name that you have have. Then just press ok.
Then edit manually edit the looping to your hex.
FF is the of every channel.


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#25 2013-02-26 14:16:08

FroggestSpirit
Member
Registered: 2012-03-12
Post 103/300
Website

Re: Midi->GSC

Here is a better way...
Step 1. Click Piano Roll editor
kXDlaNr.png

Step 2. Click where you want the song to start, that will move the cursor there. Then click New Cue (as circled) enter the symbol [ like in the other circle, click OK
PAqXPNj.png

Step 3. Click where you want the song to end, that will move the cursor there. Then click New Cue (as circled) enter the symbol ] like in the other circle, click OK
Ubvuz64.png

Step 4. Save as midi format 0, and repeat for the other channels.

Last edited by FroggestSpirit (2013-02-26 14:16:59)


This isn't easy to say, but…
Music and ASM hacker

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB