Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-17 19:34:25

narfnrara
Member
Registered: 2013-02-17
Post 1/46

Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

Hello. I've been attempting to change the pokemon sprites in a Pokemon Gold (U) rom, and been having no end of difficulty. I tried using AGIXP but the program has completely stopped running, so I'm back to attempting to use Tile Layer Pro. With the help of Data Crystal, I've found the offset where graphics begin, but now I've got a really big problem.

Simply put, I really have no idea how the tiles fit together. They don't seem to follow a direct horizontal or vertical pattern, unless I'm starting somewhere, and I'm really confused about all of this. If anyone could help me with finding out how to assemble the tiles so that they'd fit together into the actual sprites, that would be really helpful.

In case you're wondering, AGIXP has stopped even displaying that error with the key and whatnot, and has just started giving me a "Application AGIXP has had a fatal error" box instead. It's really kind of a bummer.

Please help.

Last edited by narfnrara (2013-02-18 00:08:30)


stunfisking the nation since the 90s

Offline

#2 2013-02-17 19:53:31

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 594/649

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

Im sure your problem has been repremended in this thread


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#3 2013-02-17 19:55:46

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 345/447

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

You won't be able to assemble the tiles into a meaningful pattern, because they contain compressed graphics.
Delete the AGI XP registry keys and see if it will start up regularly again: HKCU\Software\VB and VBA Program Settings\Advanced Graphics Inserter

cYa,

Tauwasser

Offline

#4 2013-02-17 20:01:32

narfnrara
Member
Registered: 2013-02-17
Post 3/46

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

Alright, thank you. I'll try that.

EDIT: It doesn't seem that AGI even made a registry entry. The only thing I have under VB and VBA Program Settings is Hack-O-Matic.

Nevertheless, I deleted VB and VBA Program Settings as a test, and AGIXP still continues to fail on me.

EDIT2:

Well, I've got it back to that error again. I figured out what was causing the thing to crash without the normal error: apparently installing ActiveX Control Panel was screwing something up somewhere and so the program didn't want to load.

Of course, now I'm getting the bog standard System Error &H8007007E thing again, and I've tried replacing the files constantly. I've reregistered them, downloaded every file I could find the name of in the linked topic, et cetera, and every time it either failed to run at all (not even an error message) or it displayed the same error. This is kind of unfortunate.

Which files do we know that the program absolutely needs to have? At the moment I've got FM20.DLL, MSCOMCT2.OCX, and zerolib.dll. Is there something else I'm missing?

Last edited by narfnrara (2013-02-17 20:08:07)


stunfisking the nation since the 90s

Offline

#5 2013-02-18 00:38:42

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 595/649

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

Download Microsoft Active X control pad. After that change the compatibility settings of AGIXP to WIndows XP Pro SP3.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#6 2013-02-18 00:55:20

emaj30
Member
From: Indigo Plateau
Registered: 2012-12-29
Post 287/462
Website

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

Have you tried changing it's compatibility mode? I'm just trying to guess since you've got all the files right? I've had the same problem of the AGIXP not running with an error of "ActiveX Error ***", * represents the number that I can't remember. Changing it's compatibility mode to that of older version windows, like windows 95 or windows 2000 might work for you. Just right click the AGIXP executable then go to properties>compatibility then tick run this program in blah blah then choose other versions, plus tick disable visual themes. And check if it's marked as read-only? But my assumptions could be wrong.

Last edited by emaj30 (2013-02-18 00:58:46)

Offline

#7 2013-02-18 01:12:42

narfnrara
Member
Registered: 2013-02-17
Post 6/46

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

tysonrss wrote:

Download Microsoft Active X control pad. After that change the compatibility settings of AGIXP to WIndows XP Pro SP3.

I'm somewhat hesitant to install ActiveX Control Pad again, as when it was installed (and I tried several times) the program started giving me unhandled exception errors instead of the normal ones. I'm unsure if this means that the program was actually running and just crashing the moment it came up, or if it meant that ActiveX itself was doing it. I'm not sure I tried changing the compatibility, but for some reason my comp doesn't have XP Pro SP3 on its compatibility list. My list goes something like:

2008 R2
7
2008
Vista
2003
XP
2000
ME
98
95
NT 4
NT 3.51
etc.

I've run it on XP and Vista after installing ActiveX before and got the exact same crashes. It might just be incompatible with my system I suppose, which would suck as as far as I can tell no other program can do the same thing.

Another thing making me wary of installing ActiveX is that it takes a lot of time to uninstall it. I had to basically reinstall to start getting the old error again, and just uninstalling the control panel doesn't do anything. That's probably a surefire sign it's the program itself crashing, now that I think about it. As usual, the unhandled exception errors don't offer anything a person can understand, which is kind of a problem.

Should I give up?


stunfisking the nation since the 90s

Offline

#8 2013-02-18 01:21:47

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 596/649

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

I've had a similar problem on the computer I had before this one. But I was able to fix it. At that time I uploaded a package for others with the same problem and didn't remember till now. It still won't work probably but give it a shot. But those dll files into system32 folder and register them. Keep Zerolib.dll in the folder where agixp is.

http://www.mediafire.com/?kej4454fdq8eqn5
http://www.mediafire.com/?y5a5xqi6noht5vs
http://www.mediafire.com/?c4f13e2ue9zo6y4
http://www.mediafire.com/?xaak5ra9cp8cfjc

Last edited by tysonrss (2013-02-18 01:24:52)


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#9 2013-02-18 01:24:59

narfnrara
Member
Registered: 2013-02-17
Post 7/46

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

Didn't work, sadly enough. As a test, I started up a few other programs and they worked fine, so I'm guessing it's probably just my system doesn't like AGIXP.

Oh well. Thanks for your help, everyone.


stunfisking the nation since the 90s

Offline

#10 2013-02-18 03:19:39

emaj30
Member
From: Indigo Plateau
Registered: 2012-12-29
Post 288/462
Website

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

What's the version of your AGIXP? Mine is 4.11.

Offline

#11 2013-02-21 11:47:37

Sou1forged
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-10-30
Post 12/14

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

AGIXP 4.11 is the version known to be unstable. It works on some computers, and doesn't on other computers. I have two computers, and the program runs fine on one, but just won't launch on the other...

There's an older version (3.00) which should be stable, but it has less features and has of late been nigh impossible to find.

Offline

#12 2013-02-21 13:24:23

emaj30
Member
From: Indigo Plateau
Registered: 2012-12-29
Post 305/462
Website

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

Yes, I've been looking for the v3.00 but it's very hard to find. And other search results only provide dead links.

Offline

#13 2013-02-21 15:52:05

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,340/3,455

Re: Yet Another AGIXP Error Thread

I think I still have a copy of 3.00 lying around, but I can't find it on my laptop. I think its on my external harddrive with the other backup files from my old computer. I'll look through it, and if I find a copy I'll upload it.

EDIT: Looks like I spoke too soon. Can't seem to find a copy on my external either. Dang.

Last edited by Mateo (2013-02-21 15:58:55)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB