Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-06 21:07:18

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 541/649

Mapping and tileset problem

I've  been having a very annoying problem with mapping. Here's an example.


In Pewter City I decided to bring back the Museum for my hack. The first floor is fine, the second floor is as well...until...we hit Route 4 where the Pokemon Center is. That's when all Hell breaks lose. To make things clear, I inserted two maps into the museum and one map into the Poke Center on Route 4 from Johto. That said, to get to the problem.

So as I said the second floor of Pewter Museum is just fine, that is until I edit the map of Poke Center on Route 4. When I make the map for the Poke Center the second floor in Pewter Museum messes up. When I fix it, the reverse happens, the econd floor is okay and the ROute 4 Poke Center is fucked again. I'm thinking the map data is colliding with one another but I could be wrong.

Has anyone experienced something like this? Any ideas on how to handle this?


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#2 2013-02-06 21:24:16

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,275/3,508

Re: Mapping and tileset problem

yeah, it sounds like the map data is overlapping. If you used one of the "upstairs pokemon center maps that only has a warp on the stairs and no people or anything" to make the museum, and didn't repoint its map data, you will get this problem. To save space, all Pokemon Center Upstairs maps point to the same data (as do all Pokemon Center Downstairs maps, all Pokemarts, all of a particular type of house or route gate, etc). If you repoint the top floor of the museum it should fix it if that is your problem.

Also, if you expanded the size of the map and didn't change its location, it could be overflowing onto another map. Either way, repointing the museum seems like it would fix the problem.

Last edited by Mateo (2013-02-06 21:25:18)

Offline

#3 2013-02-06 21:25:32

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 542/649

Re: Mapping and tileset problem

Mateo wrote:

yeah, it sounds like the map data is overlapping. If you used one of the "upstairs pokemon center maps that only has a warp on the stairs and no people or anything" to make the museum, and didn't repoint its map data, you will get this problem. To save space, all Pokemon Center Upstairs maps point to the same data (as do all Pokemon Center Downstairs maps, all Pokemarts, all of a particular type of house or route gate, etc). If you repoint the top floor of the museum it should fix it if that is your problem.

Thanks Mateo, this is the problem. I used the second floor Poke Center of Pewter for the second floor of the Museum.

I never repointed map data though...


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#4 2013-02-06 21:29:01

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,277/3,508

Re: Mapping and tileset problem

No problem, should be a simple fix then. Glad I could help.

Offline

#5 2013-02-06 21:30:50

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 543/649

Re: Mapping and tileset problem

Does gold map automatically repoint the data?


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#6 2013-02-06 21:36:13

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,278/3,508

Re: Mapping and tileset problem

It does if you make the map larger. But it doesn't let you choose where it repoints to, so you might be better off going to the map header and repointing it manually.

Offline

#7 2013-02-06 21:37:02

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 544/649

Re: Mapping and tileset problem

Which would be map/level offset correct?


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#8 2013-02-06 21:37:45

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,505/2,317

Re: Mapping and tileset problem

Mateo wrote:

It does if you make the map larger. But it doesn't let you choose where it repoints to, so you might be better off going to the map header and repointing it manually.

Yeah, it would be generally a really bad idea to use any of the rom banks up to 0x20 or so (expect for 0x13). That's where it would most likely locate the map data itself.

Offline

#9 2013-02-06 22:47:11

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,279/3,508

Re: Mapping and tileset problem

tysonrss wrote:

Which would be map/level offset correct?

Correct.

Offline

#10 2013-02-06 22:49:09

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 545/649

Re: Mapping and tileset problem

Not really....it took me awhile but I figured it out.

You first have to find free space for map insertion, after that you go to the secondary header and then go 3 bytes over to the right(or two)and that's the pointer to the map offset...

Last edited by tysonrss (2013-02-06 22:49:42)


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#11 2013-02-06 22:53:20

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,280/3,508

Re: Mapping and tileset problem

Well yeah, naturally you have to find free space to insert it in. But in Johtomap the level offset is the offset of the map data. Like it took the pointer from the header and presented it to you as an offset instead. But to repoint it in a hex editor, you have to go to the secondary header and change the pointer manually (which is the way I do it, but I checked and the Level offset does appear to show the offset of the actual map data itself).

Last edited by Mateo (2013-02-06 22:53:54)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB