Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-09 06:19:50

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 3/16

Chemtrails Help Request Thread

I'm not sure why this is,
but everytime I load a clean Gen II rom in TLP, I get some tiles that are wayy off.

I highlighted in red what I'm talking about.
http://imgur.com/RPerY

Last edited by Chemtrails (2013-01-13 09:03:11)


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#2 2013-01-09 06:43:35

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,439/2,308

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

You're probably viewing the "tile image" one byte away from its actual position.
You can see the offset shown with TLP there, change it to "something else".

Offline

#3 2013-01-09 06:50:33

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 95/673

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

The tilesets are compressed but they just use the compression command that precedes literal data. The longest a single command can account for is 1024 bytes (64 tiles). So when you hit the 65th tile, you need another command to keep going. In this case the command is 2 bytes long so you have to shift 2 bytes ahead to see the rest properly.

Same goes for the first set, so you have to shift 2 bytes ahead at the beginning too.

Last edited by comet (2013-01-09 06:51:55)

Offline

#4 2013-01-09 07:16:09

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 5/16

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

Would I be changing the byte by two (e.g. 70 + 2 = 72($19a18) or would I be changing the tileset header offset?

Last edited by Chemtrails (2013-01-09 07:16:49)


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#5 2013-01-09 07:18:52

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,162/3,471

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

If you're just wanting them to look right in TLP so you can edit them, you would just use the + and - keys at the top of your keyboard to shift the data forward or backward so it looks right in the editor.

Offline

#6 2013-01-09 07:20:28

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 6/16

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

I had no idea :o
Thank you very much everyone for your help!
and thanks Mateo for the tip :]


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#7 2013-01-09 07:21:29

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,163/3,471

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

No problem mate

Offline

#8 2013-01-11 03:37:18

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 7/16

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

Not a ROM compression issue, but I didn't want to make a separate thread.

Whenever I load my rom in VisBoyAdv, the extended tileset doesn't load at all,
although it does load in Megamap.

Is there a thread I'm not finding on tileset extension issues and troubleshooting?

Also, my 6th palette loads green instead of brown.
Not sure how to go about fixing that.

Thanks for the help!

Also:
Would it make sense to sticky a master Tileset help thread? That way issues can be documented and their solutions posted and updated?
just a thought.

EDIT:
Realized I didn't install the tileset extension IPS.
Whoops!

EDIT EDIT:
Think I figured out why the palette changes. I may have overwritten the roof top palette, so when I go town to town, the doors change.
Is there a way to cancel this town-to-town palette switch altogether?

Last edited by Chemtrails (2013-01-11 21:28:54)


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#9 2013-01-13 09:07:25

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 8/16

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

I'm having troubles with Megamap.
I resized all my maps in JohtoMap and they loaded just fine in Megamap to edit,
but somewhere along the line when I was switching between editing blocks and the map and whatnot,

I received a the message:
_
"Run-time Error 9"

Subscript Out of Range
-

Now every time I try to open the edited Route 29, Megamap just crashes, although my edited New Bark Town works just fine.

-
+ I did edit the dimensions for both New Bark Town and Route 29
+ I did mess around with the Map Connections so I could edit the map

Any idea how I can fix this? Or what the issue is specifically? I've spent quite some time on this, and I can seem to find where I went wrong.
thanks!


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#10 2013-01-13 13:29:15

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 332/447

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

This is probably related to the map connections. ZeroMap cannot handle map connections that are inside the map, which can happen if you resize the map and edit the connection the wrong way.
Best thing to try is to disable all connection by setting the connection byte in the secondary map header to 0x00u.

cYa,

Tauwasser

Offline

#11 2013-01-13 20:29:42

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 9/16

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

That was exactly it!
Thank you :]


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#12 2013-01-15 22:07:39

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 11/16

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

Everytime I try to edit map connections and view them in Megamap, it crashes.
I have no way to gauge any of the work i don't even know how to do.

Is there video tutorial of map connections being worked on?
Or another tutorial out there?
I've spent hours just trying to figure out what is being instructed to no avail.

I'm just trying to connect New Bark Town (18x15) to Route 29 (13x26) via Northside.
I've got the formulas written down and defined, (even tauwassers chart) but I'm having so much difficulty.

Also, what do
OMDL
CMPDL
CSUBP mean?

I'm at a dead end with my hack until I can figure this out :/


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#13 2013-02-10 17:07:17

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 12/16

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

So after dozens of hours of experimenting, i'm finally starting to get the hang of this (if only roughly).

But I'm having a major issue with my Route 29 (13x28). Megamap refuses to load if I try a making the map connections south based at all (as in changing the byte to 04 from 00). It crashes every time.

Is there any remedy you guys can think of for this issue?

Also, idk what/how to figure out the value of x/y movement of connection strip. is there any definition that made it make sense to you?

Thanks ya'll, for all your help

Last edited by Chemtrails (2013-02-10 17:11:11)


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#14 2013-02-10 20:18:00

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 13/16

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

jwibagi wrote:

Did you repoint the secondary map header? And did you enter in values for the new South connection?

The formulas are explained in Miksy's tutorial but I do admit it's hard to read.
Y-movement a bit easier, but X-movement tends to confuse me.

I have a way of thinking about it but it's hard to explain without a visual.

I can try taking a look at your file if you'd like. Other than that I can't really help you at this point.

repoint it? like move it to a blank section of code?

and
should i upload the file itself or would screenshots help as well?


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#15 2013-03-23 02:02:19

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 14/16

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

So I finally got it to work.
After ~50 hours of work and trying to figure it out, Map Connections finally make sense to me.

Now my task is setting different maps to always be one time. That way I can make certain areas load with different palettes.
I disabled setting the time in the intro, and it made it always midnight as it should have.

Do the lighting bytes in the Primary Map Header determine what time the maps run on? I can seem to find any information of what the different values in the lighting section of the Primary Map Header do at all.

If anybody can help me figure this out, it'd be greatly appreciated. Thanks!


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#16 2013-03-23 05:11:27

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 225/517

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

I think you already have the answer, in the primary header which is the 7th bytes try playing around on it, or just extend the routine for palletes  in this way you can have morethan 5 palleteset's which are
m/d/n darkness and indoor


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#17 2013-03-23 09:06:30

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,586/2,308

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

Chemtrails wrote:

So I finally got it to work.
After ~50 hours of work and trying to figure it out, Map Connections finally make sense to me.

Now my task is setting different maps to always be one time. That way I can make certain areas load with different palettes.
I disabled setting the time in the intro, and it made it always midnight as it should have.

Also, note that you should only connect maps that belong to the same Map Bank (because if you don't, the sprites that the two don't have in common, won't be displayed properly in the game).

You can switch the Map Bank and Map Number of two existing maps with one another by changing their Primary Header datas around.

Offline

#18 2013-03-23 22:29:08

Chemtrails
Member
From: Montana
Registered: 2012-11-09
Post 16/16

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

Miksy91 wrote:
Chemtrails wrote:

So I finally got it to work.
After ~50 hours of work and trying to figure it out, Map Connections finally make sense to me.

Now my task is setting different maps to always be one time. That way I can make certain areas load with different palettes.
I disabled setting the time in the intro, and it made it always midnight as it should have.

Also, note that you should only connect maps that belong to the same Map Bank (because if you don't, the sprites that the two don't have in common, won't be displayed properly in the game).

You can switch the Map Bank and Map Number of two existing maps with one another by changing their Primary Header datas around.

Noted, thats a helpful tip!

-

This question I have no idea how to begin to look up. Can you change the names of the towns in Johtomap/Megamap to your own custom name for the town?

Last edited by Chemtrails (2013-03-24 00:16:07)


What if people were slaves to Pokemon?
What if Pokemon were blood-thirsty warmongers that demanded trainers catch allies and train them to keep Humans oppressed?
These are the questions I battle with every day.

Offline

#19 2013-03-24 04:37:32

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 365/447

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

Chemtrails wrote:

Do the lighting bytes in the Primary Map Header determine what time the maps run on? I can seem to find any information of what the different values in the lighting section of the Primary Map Header do at all.

Considering the primary and secondary map headers are really well-documented all over the web, you'll need to increase your googlefu a bit...

See for instance my translation of the German documentation on this forum: http://hax.iimarck.us/post/12507/#p12507

Miksy91 wrote:

Also, note that you should only connect maps that belong to the same Map Bank (because if you don't, the sprites that the two don't have in common, won't be displayed properly in the game).

That's correct. However, some map banks are compatible - for instance MB 24 and MB 26 New Bark Town to Rosalia doesn't use a route house for instance. Mind you, since the tile table in WRAM is not being recomputed, all overlapping sprites will continue to work just as expected. So you can theoretically use a subset of the available sprites for "inter region" maps.

cYa,

Tauwasser

Offline

#20 2013-03-24 07:31:37

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,589/2,308

Re: Chemtrails Help Request Thread

Chemtrails wrote:

This question I have no idea how to begin to look up. Can you change the names of the towns in Johtomap/Megamap to your own custom name for the town?

No, but you can edit all of them easily with a hex editor.
Find my "how to make a new region" tutorial for reference.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB