Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-07 22:27:42

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 165/396

.dll Problem

In order to get AGIXP to work, I have to register fm20.dll in the registry. I can't seem to get it to work.

I've downloaded the folder from this thread: http://hax.iimarck.us/topic/74/

I'm following instructions in the readme, and I keep getting the same error. I'm using Windows XP x64, and I've also tried it on 32 bit Vista. The command i'm using is: regsvr32 \windows\system32\fm20.dll

I'm getting the "The specified module could not be found" error, although i've put fm20.dll in the system32 directory.

Can anyone see any mistakes i've made here?

Offline

#2 2012-11-07 22:30:13

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 28/679

Re: .dll Problem

you're already in /system32, you're telling it to look in C:/Windows/System32/windows/system32.

Offline

#3 2012-11-07 22:36:11

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 166/396

Re: .dll Problem

So I don't need to include "\windows\system32"? Does 'regsvr32' mean that it is registering a file already in the directory?

edit: Tried it, same error.

Offline

#4 2012-11-07 22:59:47

Cartmic
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 133/156

Re: .dll Problem

Chowdit2 wrote:

...fact is, is that Visual Basic is old computers.

That was difficult to understand could you elaborate?

Offline

#5 2012-11-07 23:47:18

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 167/396

Re: .dll Problem

Chowdit2 wrote:

Similar errors happen on my computer, with map editors. However, 1. Either go online and register it. 2. Or you can ask FrezSparce for their full package. But on mine, I think it's Visual Basic files missing. Ding! I think that's why I can't use map editors, is because I like Windows 95, or Windows 98. :( However, fact is, is that Visual Basic is old computers.

Yeah, I didn't understand all of that.... But I don't know what you mean by registering it online. I don't think you have to do that.

Anyway, I tried using all variations of 'regsvr' and 'fm20.dll' that logically could work and none of them did. I really don't know much at all about this.

Offline

#6 2012-11-07 23:55:31

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 191/410

Re: .dll Problem

Unfortunately, the only fix that has ever worked for me was installing Microsoft Office (2007 is the version I use).  But this fix won't work for everyone because not everyone uses Microsoft Office as their office suite solution :(


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#7 2012-11-08 00:26:41

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 168/396

Re: .dll Problem

I got it working. You clued me on the idea of installing something that registers it for you, in this case ActiveX Control Pad.

I'll link to it here.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms968493.aspx


Thanks.

Last edited by Vitharix (2012-11-08 00:27:12)

Offline

#8 2012-11-08 00:28:19

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,893/3,503

Re: .dll Problem

I hadn't posted yet because I was assuming you had already tried that, so I was trying to come up with an alternate solution. I run Office 2003, and that seemed to take care of the DLL problem for me, the same way Active X Control Pad does. Glad you got it working though, and sorry I didn't mention that earlier.

Offline

#9 2012-11-08 00:29:39

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 192/410

Re: .dll Problem

Glad to see your problem is solved.


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#10 2012-11-08 00:53:47

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 169/396

Re: .dll Problem

Mateo wrote:

I hadn't posted yet because I was assuming you had already tried that, so I was trying to come up with an alternate solution. I run Office 2003, and that seemed to take care of the DLL problem for me, the same way Active X Control Pad does. Glad you got it working though, and sorry I didn't mention that earlier.

Honestly, I'd completely forgotten it as being a possible fix :p No worries man! I must've skipped over it or thought I tried it already. Thanks guys.


And I guess my install doesn't like the 'non-official' .dll, because I looked into the syntax of the command, and I couldn't find for the life of me where I was going wrong. Gotta love Windows and an ActiveX install from 1997 :)

Last edited by Vitharix (2012-11-08 00:57:13)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB