Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#26 2012-11-15 17:03:26

rko420
Member
From: Newbark town (jotho)
Registered: 2012-09-15
Post 39/75

Re: Pokemon Bronze

I'm back after a lot of exams .
WHAT... jar format released.
*Thanks for it  gagep931. I am going to download it. Thanks  a million.


Ready for saving the world

Offline

#27 2012-11-16 04:51:26

rko420
Member
From: Newbark town (jotho)
Registered: 2012-09-15
Post 40/75

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Playing the demo.... , wow a nice game .
Thanks for a beautiful game  freako.


Ready for saving the world

Offline

#28 2012-11-17 00:44:12

Zapdos
Member
From: Unknown Dungeon
Registered: 2012-07-10
Post 22/114

Re: Pokemon Bronze

rko420 wrote:

I'm back after a lot of exams .
WHAT... jar format released.
*Thanks for it  gagep931. I am going to download it. Thanks  a million.

No problem, i have plenty more on my 4shared account if you want more :)


Looks like hes been....
(•_•)
( •_•)>⌐■-■
(⌐■_■)
Disarmed!!!
YEEEEEEEEAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!!

Offline

#29 2012-11-17 03:10:19

rko420
Member
From: Newbark town (jotho)
Registered: 2012-09-15
Post 41/75

Re: Pokemon Bronze

gagep931 wrote:
rko420 wrote:

I'm back after a lot of exams .
WHAT... jar format released.
*Thanks for it  gagep931. I am going to download it. Thanks  a million.

No problem, i have plenty more on my 4shared account if you want more :)

yeah thanks for it. I want more. But  please tell me how can I found your file there:-x


Ready for saving the world

Offline

#30 2012-11-17 04:52:47

Zapdos
Member
From: Unknown Dungeon
Registered: 2012-07-10
Post 23/114

Re: Pokemon Bronze

@rko420 i think all you have to do is click on the "show all files from gagep931" link on 4shared under the more files, then they'll all show up, i think :)


Looks like hes been....
(•_•)
( •_•)>⌐■-■
(⌐■_■)
Disarmed!!!
YEEEEEEEEAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!!

Offline

#31 2012-11-17 06:30:17

Freako
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-02
Post 19/237
Website

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Here's a nifty fake magazine advertisement I created!

bronzemagazine.jpg

Offline

#32 2012-11-17 07:21:20

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,935/3,578

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Looks nice!

Offline

#33 2012-11-17 08:16:12

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,936/3,578

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Also, I just played through the demo, and its pretty fun. You succeeded in keeping a standard Pokemon feel to it, although I think some places were a little too noticeable as the areas you changed them from. Maybe that's just because when I play a complete transformation hack, I always play a game of "Let's see if I can guess what this used to be" and so I was trying harder to find those things.

I did notice a couple of bugs, though. For example, the flight data is often wrong, causing you to not land in front of a Pokemon Center when you die (although I didn't notice any problems with getting stuck because of that). I also noticed a bug where certain maps show up as being in their original places on the Town Map, just an oversight when you edited the header of course. For example in Azalea Russet Town, the Name Rater shows up as being in Peel City, and there might be a few others but I only remember that one.

All said, it was fun and I enjoyed the demo. Looking forward to seeing more from this.

Offline

#34 2012-11-17 09:34:50

rko420
Member
From: Newbark town (jotho)
Registered: 2012-09-15
Post 42/75

Re: Pokemon Bronze

gagep931 wrote:

@rko420 i think all you have to do is click on the "show all files from gagep931" link on 4shared under the more files, then they'll all show up, i think :)

got it , thank you:-D


Ready for saving the world

Offline

#35 2012-11-17 10:55:36

Freako
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-02
Post 20/237
Website

Re: Pokemon Bronze

kkj1116 wrote:

I really admire the "fake" marketing around this (the Youtube trailer, the game cartridge screenshots, website, and now this).
Can't wait to update my ROM file for the final version!

I always enjoy making authentic things to advertise my projects. I still have a 90s style commercial (transferred to VHS and then worn out) to make for it.

Mateo wrote:

Also, I just played through the demo, and its pretty fun. You succeeded in keeping a standard Pokemon feel to it, although I think some places were a little too noticeable as the areas you changed them from. Maybe that's just because when I play a complete transformation hack, I always play a game of "Let's see if I can guess what this used to be" and so I was trying harder to find those things.

Yeap, I did my best with my capabilities to try and mask events as this is only my first major hack, it gets a bit better onwards, I hope.

Mateo wrote:

I did notice a couple of bugs, though. For example, the flight data is often wrong, causing you to not land in front of a Pokemon Center when you die (although I didn't notice any problems with getting stuck because of that). I also noticed a bug where certain maps show up as being in their original places on the Town Map, just an oversight when you edited the header of course. For example in Azalea Russet Town, the Name Rater shows up as being in Peel City, and there might be a few others but I only remember that one.

Thanks for spotting that, I'll re check all the buildings to make sure they're in the right towns.
Also the flight data being wrong I was aware of, as I'd designed the maps to not get you stuck when you do fly. Milksy was going to fix those for me I think as I can't do it myself.

Last edited by Freako (2012-11-17 10:56:26)

Offline

#36 2012-11-17 11:44:13

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,248/2,339

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Freako wrote:

Also the flight data being wrong I was aware of, as I'd designed the maps to not get you stuck when you do fly. Milksy was going to fix those for me I think as I can't do it myself.

I could but you could also easily achieve it yourself (unless you want to give the first final version for me or someone else here to play).
The flying data table is located at 0x15319 and is rather simple;
Map Bank, Map Number, X location, Y location

Offline

#37 2012-11-17 12:19:01

Freako
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-02
Post 21/237
Website

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Haha. I called you Mlksy. My bad, Miksy.
When beta testing is done I'll just send it to you for final touch ups.

Currently I'm up to the 3rd GYM in my personal final playthrough and I've only had to make a few corrections. So far so good!

Offline

#38 2012-11-17 12:20:14

Shadowvday
Member
Registered: 2012-09-10
Post 10/10

Re: Pokemon Bronze

gagep931 wrote:

Those look pretty good. Btw, here's the link to the jar version if anyone's interested: http://www.4shared.com/file/eYm-7Aze/Po … _Demo.html

Thanks for this link! I'm downloading and testing it. Demo :)

Offline

#39 2012-11-17 12:21:21

Freako
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-02
Post 22/237
Website

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Everyone who plays the demo I would very much appreciate feedback here.

Offline

#40 2012-11-17 22:34:30

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,940/3,578

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Also, maybe I just missed it, but I couldn't find a link to the optional patch to play as the girl. I had planned on playing through both of them just to double check if there were any other bugs in the alternate version.

Also, I liked the idea so much that I decided I would do something similar this December when I release the next update of Pokemon Christmas. I'll have 2 versions that are nearly identical, except in one you play as Kris and the other you play as Hiro. I'll be changing a little more than just the player sprites and names though, but those differences would be mentioned with the release.

Offline

#41 2012-11-18 03:52:47

Freako
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-02
Post 23/237
Website

Re: Pokemon Bronze

The girl patch comes out with the finished ROM. It's not compatible with the demo.

Offline

#42 2012-11-18 03:53:10

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,943/3,578

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Fair enough, sounds good.

Offline

#43 2012-11-18 03:56:09

Freako
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-02
Post 24/237
Website

Re: Pokemon Bronze

I'd gladly let you play test a finished beta version before the actual release and you can play through with the girl patch and let me know if anything odd pops up.

Offline

#44 2012-11-18 05:02:18

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,944/3,578

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Cool, thanks. I'll do my best to catch anything.

Offline

#45 2012-11-18 16:29:41

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,251/2,339

Re: Pokemon Bronze

I'll have very little time helping you out until Christmas or so. If Mateo is going to test the hack eventually, he could also do those flying data fixes for you (if feels like it).

If there's something more you need help with, let me know and I'll get back to you when I have time to.

Offline

#46 2012-11-19 04:42:41

Freako
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-02
Post 25/237
Website

Re: Pokemon Bronze

We'll address it closer to release.
Anyway today to fix up the pace of part of the game I added another town to Kohto that uses a different tileset to the rest of the region.
memtown.png

Last edited by Freako (2012-11-19 04:43:03)

Offline

#47 2012-11-19 06:23:56

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,949/3,578

Re: Pokemon Bronze

It looks pretty cool, although I don't know if I quite like the wall texture on the Pokémon Center.

Offline

#48 2012-11-19 06:57:58

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,254/2,339

Re: Pokemon Bronze

That's a neat way of creating a statue! I've been planning to create one of my own for a long time now (for a very valid reason) and that just gave me some more ideas.

I'll agree with Mateo about the "wall texture" there. The type of a wall PC's use in G/S/C would be better if there is nothing special related to this town why you want to have a different type of a wall for it.

kkj1116 wrote:

Freako, I could actually try to help you fix the map locations if you'd like.

Sounds like a plan to me :)

Last edited by Miksy91 (2012-11-19 06:58:39)

Offline

#49 2012-11-19 07:02:25

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,951/3,578

Re: Pokemon Bronze

Miksy91 wrote:
kkj1116 wrote:

Freako, I could actually try to help you fix the map locations if you'd like.

Sounds like a plan to me :)

Also, if you can't manage, I should be able to do that when I test it out if it still needs to be done.

Offline

#50 2012-11-19 07:34:36

Freako
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-02
Post 26/237
Website

Re: Pokemon Bronze

I also have at least one Pokemon's stats and movesets need to be changed (as they're a completely different Pokemon now) which I can't do myself, if you're capable of doing that too.

Also the wall, I can give it something different if you think it looks off.

Last edited by Freako (2012-11-19 07:35:50)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB