Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#26 2011-05-11 14:38:50

dragonlordz
Member
Registered: 2011-03-28
Post 34/140
Website

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

invalid or Deleted File.

The key you provided for file download was invalid. This is usually caused because the file is no longer stored on Mediafire. This occurs when the file is removed by the originating user or Mediafire.
If you believe you have reached this page in error, please contact support.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
can anyone re-upload melash tileser repointer and editor??????????????????????????????????

Edit by Mateo: I removed the picture because it was large and extremely offtopic.

Last edited by Mateo (2011-05-11 17:05:37)


Its not your right to decide whether they live oor die they deserve a chance
Something Free Awaits
Dont Click here

Offline

#27 2011-05-11 14:59:20

tekcoR
Member
From: Celadon City
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 49/165

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

What the...? (@picture <__<) You should read the previous posts:

Cloud wrote:

Cya

Offline

#28 2011-11-15 03:15:17

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 143/649

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

This program happens to be full of bugs.

When adding detail to more blocks and assigning collision values, at times some parts of the pieces on different blocks mess up and when you fix them, the collision values you just fixed mess up again...


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#29 2011-11-15 03:43:01

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 54/410

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

tysonrss wrote:

This program happens to be full of bugs.

When adding detail to more blocks and assigning collision values, at times some parts of the pieces on different blocks mess up and when you fix them, the collision values you just fixed mess up again...

This has happened to me before.

Did you ever repoint the offset for the block data and collision values?  If you didn't, then when you edit blocks, you will be replacing collision values, because collision values offsets are close to the end of the original amount of blocks programmed into a tileset.  This leaves almost no space to edit blocks without messing up the collison values.

Example: Tileset 21

Block Data Offset - 1F34C
Collison Values Offset - 1F74C

Not that far from each other.

You don't want to know how many times I messed up Tileset 1.

Last edited by Munchulax (2011-11-15 03:48:38)


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#30 2011-11-15 03:48:39

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 144/649

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Ah....I see.

I thought this program to care of that. Wish I knew ahead of time.

Back to the ol' hex editor...


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#31 2011-11-15 03:50:26

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 55/410

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

I just look for a place in the ROM with a bunch of 00s in the hex editor and copy that offset number to TSE.


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#32 2011-11-15 04:04:47

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 145/649

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Yeah..when you do that I take it you have to reinsert all the bloack data from the old one?


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#33 2012-05-09 04:18:15

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 121/410

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Upon closer examination of this program, it actually has some support for Pokemon Crystal and its tileset system.  If you change the DPI (Dots per Inch) of Windows in your display settings, you can view an extended tileset inserted into Gold/Silver, and the program knows that the first block in the second VRAM bank is tile 80, not tile 60.  It also sets the palette values for a tile correctly, 00-07 for VRAM0 and 08-FF for VRAM1.  This is interesting, because even though the window displaying the tileset is set to 128x48, Coolman designed the program to work with the second VRAM bank at some point in development, maybe so you could also use the program with Crystal, but scrapped the feature later on, leaving the code for working with tiles in VRAM1 intact.  If only someone could figure out a way to enlarge the viewing window for tilesets to 128x96 so we could use this program along with Tauwasser's Tileset Extension without having to change the DPI setting in Windows.

Last edited by Munchulax (2012-05-09 04:19:28)


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#34 2012-05-09 04:28:21

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,383/3,578

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

That's actually really handy, I never actually trying playing with the DPI to see about larger tilesets. But you're right, it would be nice to have a version with the larger window to support it in a more normal manner.

Offline

#35 2012-05-09 22:47:11

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 274/452

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

I'm actually pretty sure there is some switch either in the registry, or at some offset in the ROM to trigger viewing the tileset without editing the DPI setting. We used it to edit extended tilesets in Pokémon Midnight. I might check out the source code later this week, when I have time...

cYa,

Tauwasser

Last edited by Tauwasser (2012-05-09 22:50:03)

Offline

#36 2012-05-10 20:35:02

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,384/3,578

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Well I couldn't find any reference to it in the registry, the only references to "tileset" I could find were to the location of the shortcut to the program, nothing looking like a folder belonging to the program itself. I also tried a search for Coolman and found nothing inthe registry. If you can remember what you had to do to do this without setting the DPI to ridiculous levels, I would certainly appreciate it. It beats my current method for setting up large tilesets which involves using crystal map to set up blocks, and setting pallet data manually.

Offline

#37 2012-05-10 23:38:40

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 122/410

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Haha, you looked through the registry too? 

Mateo wrote:

If you can remember what you had to do to do this without setting the DPI to ridiculous levels, I would certainly appreciate it. It beats my current method for setting up large tilesets which involves using crystal map to set up blocks, and setting pallet data manually.

The only reason the DPI method kinda works for me is because my laptop has a screen resolution of 1400x1050 (It's what people call a "square" laptop).  In order for me to see a complete 128x96 tileset, I have to set my DPI to 195%, which causes the program to practically fill all of my screen.  When I had Windows XP on my laptop, I hated that I would have to restart Windows to change the DPI.  At least with Windows 7, you just have to logout and login again.  Restarting Windows XP took me about 5 minutes.  Logging out and back in for me is much quicker (about 10 seconds).


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#38 2012-05-11 03:42:53

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,385/3,578

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

I hack in XP in a virtual machine, and restarting doesn't take very long, but its still annoying because it rearranges all the icons on my virtual desktop. But yeah, I would greatly prefer a way to make it work all the time without jacking up the DPI settings. Maybe Tauwasser will figure out how they used to do it.

Offline

#39 2012-05-11 03:45:11

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 123/410

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

I used to arrange the icons on my desktop too, but I don't bother anymore.  Sometimes I change my DPI five times in one day (Can't really use Microsoft Word during my classes easily on a DPI of 195%).  My icons are always moving around.

Last edited by Munchulax (2012-05-11 03:46:15)


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#40 2012-05-11 07:06:11

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,386/3,578

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Yeah, I can be a little OCD about my desktop sometimes, so changing the DPI all the time would drive me nuts lol

It wouldn't be as bad on the VM desktop as it would on my real one, but it would still be annoying

Last edited by Mateo (2012-05-11 07:07:00)

Offline

#41 2012-05-23 20:02:29

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 277/452

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Mateo wrote:

If you can remember what you had to do to do this without setting the DPI to ridiculous levels, I would certainly appreciate it. It beats my current method for setting up large tilesets which involves using crystal map to set up blocks, and setting pallet data manually.

Well, I finally managed to find a binary of the latest version... However, I misremembered, TilesetEditor wasn't the tool we used registry shortcuts for... We had a special internal version and the public version was only released as an afterthought.

tseditor.png

That's what it looked like. I can only manage to find the source for the first couple of versions :( But since it worked with extended tilesets from the get-go, everything should work if one can manage to
However, that version is really useless for somebody not editing a Midnight rom, because we extended the primary map header by two bytes to fit custom roof tops and other stuff... Also, pretty much all tables are located at different offsets, which are hardcoded as well...

cYa,

Tauwasser

Last edited by Tauwasser (2012-05-23 20:48:00)

Offline

#42 2012-05-23 20:25:34

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,402/3,578

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Darn. Well thanks for clearing that up anyway. Perhaps it can be made possible in another way. But for now, I guess we'll just keep dealing with things the way we've been doing.

Offline

#43 2012-05-23 20:48:40

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 278/452

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Well, you could just reprogram it. It literally has less than 200 lines of code dedicated to load the stuff in Visual Basic...

cYa,

Tauwasser

Offline

#44 2012-05-23 22:47:17

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,403/3,578

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Well if I had the source code I'd be willing to take a look at it.

Offline

#45 2012-07-22 15:12:44

Plat
New member
From: Avellino, Italy
Registered: 2012-07-12
Post 7/7

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

The link doesn't work anymore... Can you post it another time please?

Offline

#46 2012-08-03 21:58:29

Luigi-San
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 70/129

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

I found an editor that's compatible with extended tilesets: http://magicstone.de/rhw/files/gstools/ … eted36.zip

Unfortunately, it only works with German roms.

Offline

#47 2012-08-03 22:21:38

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 149/410

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

Hopefully Tauwasser or Mateo can update the source code for the TilesetEditor v1.02 so that it works like the Midnight Version.


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#48 2012-09-29 13:24:33

y0r124
Member
From: Anywhere.
Registered: 2012-09-12
Post 51/331
Website

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

This tool make make my collision data screwed ,and tilesets 3 has broken/pointing to wrong tiles, when opened with johtomap it say "error decompresing graphic"

I just lucky i got my ROM backup before doing this


my FB

Lurking somewhere here...

Offline

#49 2012-09-29 17:03:21

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,596/3,578

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

From my experience, this editor will not screw anything up on its own. If you tried to add more blocks to a tileset without repointing, by changing the "garbage tiles", then you corrupted something when you did it. Those garbage tiles are not blank data, but typically they are the collision data. (By default, most tilesets' collision data starts immediately after the block data, but this isn't always the case). It does not automatically repoint things, you have to tell it a new offset manually. While I don't know what happened exactly, it sounds like what happens when you try to add more blocks without repointing the block data and collision data.

Offline

#50 2012-09-30 12:52:09

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 59/396

Re: English Tileset Repointer and Editor

It's been said that this tool works only with German roms. Is that the case, and if so, how does that work? Are different tilesets (and/or other data) located in different areas of the rom in other-language roms?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB