Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#26 2012-10-11 05:55:47

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 94/396

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

RPD490 wrote:

Okay Im done, I'm just gonna stop now. Obviously I am not meant for this kinda of stuff, I try to follow directions and I can't seem to do get anything right. I just either make the same exact mistake again or make a new one. Either way, I am just digging myself deeper into the hole so. Im just gonna forget about making these two, as well as the birds events because, whats the point?

You should just take a break from it. Don't quit completely. Maybe take a few days to learn something else, and in the process you might make some inadvertent sense out of what you're trying to do now.

Last edited by Vitharix (2012-10-11 05:56:16)

Offline

#27 2012-10-11 06:00:06

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,155/2,305

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

You were close to solving the problem already, just take "33 + 2 bytes following it" out of both the scripting codes and they will work fine.

Offline

#28 2012-10-11 15:03:24

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,678/3,455

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

Yeah man, don't give up, just take a break. I mean I know what you're feeling, I felt that way too once. I couldn't figure out scripting for the life of me back in the day. I would get confused because I would see one document or tutorial say one thing and one person say another and so on and so forth. Eventually I had to learn to just take a break when I got frustrated instead of just, well, getting frustrated. It takes patience and practice sometimes (And I know that those are hard to keep in mind when you're frustrated, believe me).

Offline

#29 2012-10-11 15:36:47

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 80/259
Website

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

alright I'll just take a break. Just to let you know I took the 33 + 2-bytes on Mew and the game crashed with a Failure to opcode. Mewtwo just doesn't appear at all so Im back to where I sorta of started, but I guess I won't try to figure it out now.

Offline

#30 2012-10-11 17:54:06

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 95/396

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

Hmm. Well like I said its a good strategy to take a break, especially when you try one last thing and it fails completely like that (again... we know exactly how you're feeling about it). So maybe try some sprinting or start a mini-hack that uses existing events or something. Maybe try text-editing. That's a good way to start to get how one of the most basic (and most widely used) scripts work.

Offline

#31 2012-10-11 17:56:38

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 81/259
Website

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

Its sad really. I was capable of doing a new event in FR by battling a Trainer, scripting all the dialogue and and such, as well as scripting him to give you a Pokemon at another location. That took me maybe 2-3 hours to figure out. Here, this is taking me forever.

Offline

#32 2012-10-11 18:05:29

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 96/396

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

That might be part of the problem. As far as I know, scripting in FR and GSC are very dissimilar. Obviously the element of scripting is basically the same... But the games are different in structure, and probably more importantly, GSC uses the game engine from RBG. And anyone will tell you that game was kind of a mess internally. So it can't be approached like an advance game. You have to learn it all over again. In my case I 'm learning Gen 1/2 first so if I ever decide to try Advance games it should be no problem haha.

Offline

#33 2012-10-12 02:59:53

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,686/3,455

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

I can understand your frustration though. What is happening for you is basically exactly the same thing that happened to me when I first tried to install mods in Minecraft.

"Okay, what the hell!? I opened the Minecraft.jar, I copied the modloader files in there, and I deleted the META-INF folder. Just like the guy in the youtube video, and just like everyone says to do. Except when they do it it works, and when I do the exact same thing, it just crashes!" At which point I got frustrated, said "screw this, I feel like an idiot" and went and did something else. Then later I figured out what I was doing wrong (using IZArc instead of WinRAR) and it worked). I'm sure that eventually something will click and you'll have that "aha!" moment where it all makes sense. It might involve taking a break and doing something else, then taking a fresh look at it. But if its something you want to do, don't give up on it. Keep trying, keep asking for help if you get stuck, and we'll keep trying to help you make sense of it.

Offline

#34 2012-10-12 03:04:36

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 95/259
Website

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

I see. Well thinks for the sympathy.


Btw, I use MCPatcher. It works a hell of a lot better than Modloader could achieve.

Offline

#35 2012-10-12 03:09:16

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,688/3,455

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

I usually just use Forge now, but some mods aren't compatible with it. So I have 2 copies of my minecraft.jar that I swap out. One is patched with ModLoader, one is patched with Forge. That way I just swap them out depending on which mods I want to use for the map I'm playing. But I don't want to derail your help thread into a Minecraft topic, so I'll just finish by saying "Any time, and hope you can make sense of it soon."

Offline

#36 2012-10-12 03:37:50

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 98/259
Website

Re: Adding Pokemon Event to New Area

Ok XD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB