Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-08 22:55:17

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 54/259
Website

Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Okay I figured that I look into the Japanese 1.0 ROM of Gold, however it seems Goldmap, and Johtomap don't support the Japanese ROM. Is there any editors that can work with the Japanese version, specifically for the tilesets?

Offline

#2 2012-10-08 23:40:19

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 91/396

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

I can't help you with that, but I did find an image of one Japanese tileset.

it's here: http://tcrf.net/Pokémon_Gold_and_Silver#Early_Tileset

If it's mostly tilesets you're after, I'm sure you can find an image of them somewhere.

Last edited by Vitharix (2012-10-08 23:43:48)

Offline

#3 2012-10-09 00:23:37

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 58/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Actually its funny, that is pretty much what I wanted to get out of the Japanese ROM, just that tileset. I figured it would be neat to give Violet and  Ecruteak a little do over with it XD

Offline

#4 2012-10-11 18:00:02

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 82/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Yeah I really wonder how I can go about obtaining these tilesets from the Japanese Roms:

PKMN_GS_TS20.png

PKMN_GS_TS1F.png

Offline

#5 2012-10-11 18:08:40

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 97/396

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

RPD490 wrote:

Yeah I really wonder how I can go about obtaining these tilesets from the Japanese Roms

Are those the right ones? Or are you referring to the beta tileset? Because I would love that as well

Offline

#6 2012-10-11 18:21:43

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 83/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

I just got these off of TCRF because thats the only place I can find them XD And there are no map editors, as far as I know, that don't work with the Japanese versions for some odd reason. If there was, then there would be no problem getting them off the ROMs then

Offline

#7 2012-10-11 18:56:10

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 307/448

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

The tileset is not in the Japanese ROM. It's a recreation solely based off of the original Tileset 0x01 and the beta early block data.

cYa,

Tauwasser

Offline

#8 2012-10-11 18:58:48

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 84/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Oh right, but its possible to add to the tileset in the game though right?

Offline

#9 2012-10-11 19:01:37

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 98/396

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Easily, though I've never done it. If I remember right, on Tileset Editor there is an import tileset feature. But I definitely could be wrong.

Offline

#10 2012-10-11 19:03:12

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 85/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

I'll have to check later. May not doing any scripting but I sure as hell will continuing map editing and doing sprites XD

Offline

#11 2012-10-11 19:05:29

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 1,158/2,311

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

You probably want to insert the new tilesets as compressed images in the rom with Agixp but you can't simply replace them with the uncompressed tilesets (or actually, I'm might be wrong here by saying this. I think you really can do that because I believe the first loaded bytes have something to do with the compression method).

Last edited by Miksy91 (2012-10-11 19:05:50)

Offline

#12 2012-10-11 19:09:16

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 86/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

I'll try and look around figuring it out

Offline

#13 2012-10-11 19:20:54

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 99/396

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Miksy91 wrote:

You probably want to insert the new tilesets as compressed images in the rom with Agixp but you can't simply replace them with the uncompressed tilesets (or actually, I'm might be wrong here by saying this. I think you really can do that because I believe the first loaded bytes have something to do with the compression method).

As I'm not near a computer I can't verify this.. but I do recall seeing an option in a program called "Import Tileset" (or tilemap, and if that is referring to something else, oops) somewhere in a program.

Also, is it in GSC that the tilesets are compressed? I can't remember.

Edit: yes, it is. I just remembered that you can edit tilesets in RBGY in TLP because they are uncompressed.

Last edited by Vitharix (2012-10-11 19:21:18)

Offline

#14 2012-10-11 19:44:46

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 88/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Hmm I guess I could give it shot.

Edit: Yeeaaaah I don't know what to do I never did tilesets before XD

Last edited by RPD490 (2012-10-11 20:01:19)

Offline

#15 2012-10-11 20:12:45

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 100/396

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

RPD490 wrote:

Hmm I guess I could give it shot.

Edit: Yeeaaaah I don't know what to do I never did tilesets before XD

What is it you want to do? Create a whole new tileset? Or just modify the existing ones?



100th post. wooo

Last edited by Vitharix (2012-10-11 22:00:34)

Offline

#16 2012-10-11 21:31:18

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 89/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Modify the existing ones. Though I see that Tileset 0 and Tileset 1 look identical so I dunno which one I would use.

Offline

#17 2012-10-11 21:34:14

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,680/3,492

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Use Tileset 1. If I remember correctly, even if you edit its pointers and such, you can't actually use Tileset 0 for some reason.

Offline

#18 2012-10-11 21:40:32

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 101/396

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

RPD490 wrote:

Modify the existing ones. Though I see that Tileset 0 and Tileset 1 look identical so I dunno which one I would use.

What Mateo said. Also, you know about the Block Editor in Goldmap, right? I know there is also one in JohtoMap but the one in Goldmap is simpler. Simpler, but more limited.

Offline

#19 2012-10-11 21:59:37

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,681/3,492

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Also, since I was actually planning on using the tiles for the Pagodas prior to this thread, I wanted to go ahead and post a copy of this tileset that you could import with TLP's "Import Bitmap" feature. It already has the "garbage pixels" that tell the game how many tiles to load, so you could just import this somewhere and point to it.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/cio0i2

Also, since I was only needing the Pagoda tiles, I only converted that one that properly displays them. The one that properly displays route houses just uses tiles from the standard tileset, so you could copy them from there if you need them. (My plan is actually to expand the tileset and just have them as extra tiles at the end on Tileset 1, using Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch.)

Offline

#20 2012-10-11 22:33:13

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 90/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Huh I did do Import Bitmap but how do I insert it into where the Tileset 1 is at? I can click and drag it around to move it but nothing else

Offline

#21 2012-10-11 23:07:10

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 102/396

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Mateo wrote:

Also, since I was actually planning on using the tiles for the Pagodas prior to this thread, I wanted to go ahead and post a copy of this tileset that you could import with TLP's "Import Bitmap" feature. It already has the "garbage pixels" that tell the game how many tiles to load, so you could just import this somewhere and point to it.

Also, since I was only needing the Pagoda tiles, I only converted that one that properly displays them. The one that properly displays route houses just uses tiles from the standard tileset, so you could copy them from there if you need them. (My plan is actually to expand the tileset and just have them as extra tiles at the end on Tileset 1, using Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch.)


Where can one find the actual .ips patch file? it's probably right in front of me but I can't seem to find it.

Offline

#22 2012-10-11 23:12:41

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 91/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Offline

#23 2012-10-11 23:42:54

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,682/3,492

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

You would want to find a free location in the rom and import it there. There is free space around 2CC00 unless you already put something else there. Just import it there, and repoint the tileset to that location. If you use Melash's tileset editor, its really simple. You would just load your rom, open tileset 1, and type 2CC00 where it says graphics location and hit save.

Offline

#24 2012-10-12 00:25:10

RPD490
Member
From: Blackthorn City, Johto
Registered: 2012-09-29
Post 92/259
Website

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

Okay you aware that the pic when I saw it first, looks a bit messed up like there are garbage lines going through the tiles and just looks why messed up? XD
Tileset1.jpg

Offline

#25 2012-10-12 01:52:46

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,683/3,492

Re: Pokemon Gold (J) ROM Editing

If you look at tileset 1 in tlp, it looks the same way. It shouldn't look that way in the tileset editor though, that doesn't make any sense. Those lines are because there are a couple of bytes at the start of the graphics telling it to load a certain amount of tiles, then another couple of bytes telling it to load the rest of them, then 2 more at the end telling it that it is the end of the graphics.

EDIT: Yeah, not sure how it ended up doing that for you. I opened up TLP, went to some free space, used Import Bitmap to insert the exact same BMP that I zipped up and sent you, saved it, opened it in tileset editor, changed the graphic location and hit save. I ended up with this:

tileset0.png


However, if you took the image that I uploaded and used something like Agixp to insert it, which would compress the image again, it would look wrong in the tileset editor and in the game.

EDIT2: Just in case it will help, here is another version that does not have the lines through it. You can try whatever you did again and see if it works with this one. While you shouldn't be able to insert this one with TLP, you could do it with Agixp or something.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/ys706j

Last edited by Mateo (2012-10-12 02:15:16)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB