Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-28 23:42:25

Avonly
New member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Post 1/5

Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

I know, that in this forum there are many people experienced in rom editing.
I haven't a clue when it comes to these things, so I address request to you.

What I am interested, is a change boy sprites on a girl in R/B/Y versions.
And no, I'm not asking how to do it. I request you to do it for me (without misunderstanding).
It's not that, I'm lazy. I'm not lazy.
Just know, that even work with tutorial in my performance, will not bring success.

Offline

#2 2012-09-29 05:08:31

Danny-E 33
Administrator
Registered: 2012-06-09
Post 137/1,046

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

I really encourage you to try this for yourself first. It really isn't too complicated.

Here's what you'll need:
Hexecute
Tile Molester
Tile Layer Pro
Paint

First, let's start with the overworld sprites because they're quite simple.
Open Tile Layer Pro (TLP) and open your ROM that you want to edit.
Scroll down in the ROM so that the offset in the status bar on the bottom says 00014000.
There you will see the player's overworld (OW) sprites.
Select each individual tile and use TLP's tile editor to draw in the hero's new OW sprite. Be careful, the link to the images of the sprite you provided has duplicate OW sprites. The two columns with only two OW sprites are mirrors of other sprites that the ROM doesn't actually need to know since it produces the mirror images itself.
Also remember the order of colors in a palette for RBY are white-light shade-dark shade-black. The default order that TLP uses is backwords so be sure to draw the new sprites appropriately. But you can change TLP's palette yourself in the Palette Editor window which I find very helpful.

Next is the player's front and back sprite.
First open the sprite in paint and make sure to format the picture with the specific parameters.
For the front sprite, the image must be exactly 56x56 pixels and the backsprite but be exactly 32x32 pixels. This means the front sprite is a 7x7 tile image and the backsprite is a 4x4 tile image. A tile is 8 pixels by 8 pixels.
Also, these sprites must include only 4 colors, same as before. White-light shade-dark shade-black. But as long as you use the sprites you already provided, that won't be a problem.
Save that image as a bitmap or a png or something.
Now open up Tile Molester and click the New button.
It will ask you for a size of the new file you are creating. For the front sprite, type 784. For the back sprite, type 256.
Click View->Codec->2bpp planar.
Click View->Block Size->Custom.
For columns, type 1.
For rows, type 7 for the frontsprite or 4 for the backsprite.
Then click Edit->Paste From and choose the image.
At this point, it should be displaying your image exactly the way it's supposed to look like with its original colors. Now double click each color on the palette bar in Tile Molester and change them to match the 4 colors of your image fairly closely. Again, make sure white is on the left!
Then you must click in some empty grey space in the window to finish pasting the image.
This causes any color on the original image to change to the closest matching color from the palette you just customized. If you did this correctly, it should look fairly normal.
Save this file.
Then go to stag019's Pokemon Generation I Graphics Compressor.
For the front sprite, enter 7 for the width and height. For the back sprite, enter 4.
Click Browse and find the file you made in Tile Molester.
Click Go and save that new file.
Open two Hexecute windows.
In one, open your ROM. In the other, open the compressed sprite you just made.
In the ROM, put your cusor right before the byte so that the offset in the status bar at the bottom says 0x12EDE for the front sprite or 0x33E0A for the back sprite.
In the Hexecute window for the sprite, select the whole thing and click Edit->Copy.
In the ROM, press Edit->Paste.

But if your compressed front sprite file was longer than 266 (0x10A) bytes or the back sprite was longer that 144 (0x90) bytes, then don't paste it into the ROM yet. This means your new image is longer than the original player sprite and pasting the new sprite would write over other sprites' data and mess it up entirely. If this is the case for you, just stop here and I'll explain what to do next.
If your new sprite wasn't too big, then you're done! After you've pasted in the new sprite, all you have to do is save.

Let me know any futher clarification you need and I'll try to help you through this.

Last edited by Danny-E 33 (2012-09-29 05:09:55)


Red Hack: Pokémon Prototype

Total number of registered users: 8000+
Total number of active users: ~12

Offline

#3 2012-10-04 18:25:48

Avonly
New member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Post 2/5

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

Hi,
Thanks for your help.
I can change all sprites now, but still have problem.
Front and back sprites, don't have the original colors in game.
I would ask you to create a mini-screenshot-tutorial, how to use Tile Molester palette properly.

Offline

#4 2012-10-04 19:49:19

Sawakita
Administrator
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 308/364

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

When you say colours you mean SGB colours or Game Boy colours (i.e. [00, 01, 10, 11], which I'd call the bit-depth-layers of a sprite, rather than its actual colours)?

Offline

#5 2012-10-05 17:58:53

Avonly
New member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Post 3/5

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

Now I know, how use palette to display sprites with original colors, but still can't create shadows.
Tile Molester palette has only three colors despite, that all front and back sprites in game are made of four, including white (shadows).
Help me, please?

Offline

#6 2012-10-05 18:06:35

Sawakita
Administrator
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 310/364

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

Can you believe I still haven't figured out what the problem is? Please, explain throughly what you're trying to do, what you expected and what is the result and what is not working.

Offline

#7 2012-10-05 18:58:24

Avonly
New member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Post 4/5

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

So read carefully:
Look at front and back sprites.
You see white shadows and gloves?
I can't color these elements as it is on picture, because Tile Molester palette don't have color corresponding to white.

Offline

#8 2012-10-05 19:02:00

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 20/679

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

Can you take a screenshot of this 3-color palette?

Offline

#9 2012-10-05 19:16:04

Avonly
New member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Post 5/5

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

Sure: click

Offline

#10 2012-10-05 19:18:39

comet
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Post 21/679

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

There are four colors. Tilemolester doesn't actually use the game's palette. I believe yellow in that palette corresponds to white in-game.

Offline

#11 2012-10-06 06:09:22

Danny-E 33
Administrator
Registered: 2012-06-09
Post 146/1,046

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

That is most certainly a four color palette.
The four colors are black-red/brown-light orange-yellow.
2lswhuc_th.jpg

Remember how I said the Gameboy palette order was backwards?
The Gameboy's order of colors are white-light shade-dark shade-black.
When viewing this step in Tile Molester, double click the back color and a color picker window will pop. Select white.
Double click the red/brown color and then select a tan color.
Double click the light orange color and then select a blue/purple color.
Double click the white color and then select black.
Then save this file, then use stag019's compressor, then insert the compressed image into your rom and it should work.
(for these specific colors I've told you to use, you should be using the front and back sprites that are on the the left of the sprite sheet you linked to (i.e. the sprites that use tan and blue/purple))

comet wrote:

I believe yellow in that palette corresponds to BLACK in-game.

Last edited by Danny-E 33 (2012-10-06 06:15:40)


Red Hack: Pokémon Prototype

Total number of registered users: 8000+
Total number of active users: ~12

Offline

#12 2013-02-19 23:43:13

PokeFan01
Member
Registered: 2013-02-13
Post 9/13

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

I've tried these steps using a Blue ROM, and all it does is make the emulator crash.  What am I doing wrong?  :(

Offline

#13 2013-02-20 01:52:40

Danny-E 33
Administrator
Registered: 2012-06-09
Post 419/1,046

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

I have no idea. Please explain what you have tried in detail.


Red Hack: Pokémon Prototype

Total number of registered users: 8000+
Total number of active users: ~12

Offline

#14 2013-02-20 05:20:23

PokeFan01
Member
Registered: 2013-02-13
Post 10/13

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

Danny-E 33 wrote:

I have no ides. Please explain what you have tried in detail.

I did exactly what the post said:

1.  Created a 4-color .png image that was 56x56.
2.  Opened it in Tile Molester just as you said.
3.  Compressed it with stag019's site.
4.  Used Hexecute to insert it into ROM at the offset.

And, yet, when I try to open it up in VisualBoyAdvance I get this weird error message.  *shrug*

EDIT:  Okay, never mind the part about the error message.  I figured out what was wrong there.  (I wasn't inserting the compressed sprite.)  However, I'm still having issues.  The game loads up fine, but the original sprite is still there, like I did nothing.  What happened?  :(

Offline

#15 2013-02-20 05:59:54

PokeFan01
Member
Registered: 2013-02-13
Post 11/13

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

Never mind that error.  Turns out the problem was that I forgot to uncheck the "Read Only" on the ROM, so my changes weren't saving.  Oops!

However, the other issue (emulator crashing) has reared its ugly head again.  :(

"Unknown opcode ec at 0082"--That message pops up whenever I try to load up *any* ROM I've attempted to change the trainer sprite on, whether it be Gen I or Gen II.  What in the hell does it mean, and why do I keep getting it?  >:(

Offline

#16 2013-02-20 22:50:58

stag019
Idea Killer
Registered: 2011-01-05
Post 365/630

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

It's hard to tell what you did wrong without explaining the steps you took or without an example. Perhaps you could upload an IPS patch of just these changes, and we could analyze it to see what you did. Bonus points if you explain all your changes and where they were.


You can try to hide yourself in this world of pretend; when the paper's crumpled up, it can't be perfect again.

Offline

#17 2013-02-20 23:28:16

PokeFan01
Member
Registered: 2013-02-13
Post 12/13

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

stag019 wrote:

It's hard to tell what you did wrong without explaining the steps you took or without an example. Perhaps you could upload an IPS patch of just these changes, and we could analyze it to see what you did. Bonus points if you explain all your changes and where they were.

IPS Patch?  How do I do that?

Offline

#18 2013-02-21 00:36:47

koolboyman
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 156/203

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

PokeFan01 wrote:
stag019 wrote:

It's hard to tell what you did wrong without explaining the steps you took or without an example. Perhaps you could upload an IPS patch of just these changes, and we could analyze it to see what you did. Bonus points if you explain all your changes and where they were.

IPS Patch?  How do I do that?

Could you at least try to look before asking obvious questions?

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=How+to+create+an+IPS+patch

Seriously...

Do you actually plan to contribute anything worthwile to this site or are you going to spend the entire time asking questions without at least looking for yourself?  The people here are not your servants.

Last edited by koolboyman (2013-02-21 00:37:36)

Offline

#19 2013-02-21 00:53:12

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 116/517

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

@Pokefan

try to search before to ask, asking is not a bad, but if want to ask something, you should search first on this section. Because almost all "beginners" question are already answered.


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#20 2013-02-21 01:16:34

PokeFan01
Member
Registered: 2013-02-13
Post 13/13

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

I'm ready to just give up right now!  >:(

Programs aren't working, ROMs are becoming corrupted, games are glitching.  In short, *everything* that could go wrong IS going wrong!

I'm tired of it.  I'm tired of redoing text, tired of re-inserting OW sprites, tired of re-editing trainers, only to have to wipe it all because of some stupid little error/glitch ruining everything!  Rinse and repeat.

Yeah, how dare I try to edit a game so I can play as a female character, or have a reasonable level curve, or have a different kind of starter!  Clearly, I'm just not cut out for this.

I'm sorry.  I'm sorry I ever wasted your time coming here.  :(


(I just had to get this out.  My head hurts, and I'm on my last nerve right now.  I've never felt so hopeless and frustrated before...)

Offline

#21 2013-02-21 01:35:44

koolboyman
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 157/203

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

PokeFan01 wrote:

I'm ready to just give up right now!  >:(

Programs aren't working, ROMs are becoming corrupted, games are glitching.  In short, *everything* that could go wrong IS going wrong!

I'm tired of it.  I'm tired of redoing text, tired of re-inserting OW sprites, tired of re-editing trainers, only to have to wipe it all because of some stupid little error/glitch ruining everything!  Rinse and repeat.

Yeah, how dare I try to edit a game so I can play as a female character, or have a reasonable level curve, or have a different kind of starter!  Clearly, I'm just not cut out for this.

I'm sorry.  I'm sorry I ever wasted your time coming here.  :(


(I just had to get this out.  My head hurts, and I'm on my last nerve right now.  I've never felt so hopeless and frustrated before...)

A pity party for you?  No, we're not doing that.

You can insert a backsprite if you actually read the tutorials and read what people posted.  Do some research on your own, and you're going to screw up several times before you get it right. 

Since you're not doing that I really have no reason to feel sorry for you.

Last edited by koolboyman (2013-02-21 01:39:18)

Offline

#22 2013-02-21 01:53:48

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 117/517

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

You should'nt quit as easy like, though hacking gcs is quite hard, there's no reason to quit right n0w, so boost up your determination on doing your hack and read , and read all tutorial, that we here.


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#23 2013-02-21 05:54:43

emaj30
Member
From: Indigo Plateau
Registered: 2012-12-29
Post 304/463
Website

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

Your problem is normal. I believe almost everyone of us here screwed the rom serveral times, more than the number of succeeded attempts. Getting tired and pissed off isn't new, just take it from them, the veterans, who exerted insane effort just to finish what they're doing. And fyi, we're only hacking/modifying the existing game which we don't know the internals completely and we're only using imperfect tools to do so. Errors are inevitable and a part of hacking, and besides this is a hobby so we should be enjoying it, so don't get frustrated coz it won't help.

Offline

#24 2013-02-21 06:19:38

Vitharix
Member
Registered: 2011-12-29
Post 211/396

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

Really, if you already have the sprites done, this shouldn't take much time at all. Try starting with a clean ROM, it's possible that you've messed up the ROM you've been using.

Offline

#25 2013-02-23 07:04:35

Danny-E 33
Administrator
Registered: 2012-06-09
Post 422/1,046

Re: Change trainer sprites in R/B/Y - request

Just have more patience. Being a "sore loser" doesn't get you anywhere. Pretty much exactly like koolboyman and emaj30 said.
Anyway, you said you are currently attempting to replace the player sprite, so my first guess is that you inserted a sprite that was bigger than the original sprite or otherwise put the new sprite on top of asm routines that the game reads which gave you a game crashing error.
Of course, it could be many other things since you were not very descriptive.

Also, if you're going to complain about starting over again and again, keep back ups!! Every now and then, make a copy of the rom you're working on. That way, if you have to start over, you can start from the most recent copy you made that will still have all the replaced text, or replaced OW sprites.


Red Hack: Pokémon Prototype

Total number of registered users: 8000+
Total number of active users: ~12

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB