Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#26 2011-11-08 18:47:12

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 74/649

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

I understand this now!!!

Thanks to Johtomap I was able to understand the event data. However using Goldmap for pointers with this tut is still recommended.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#27 2011-12-03 06:30:18

tysonrss
Member
From: US, Ohio
Registered: 2011-08-27
Post 264/649

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

Mateo wrote:

To have someone move after you beat Red, you would just look and see which flag is set when he is beaten, and then go to the person you want to disappear and set the flag in his event data to be the one for red. That way he will be there up until you beat red, and then he will go away and let you get to whatever he was blocking. Like in SaR where you have to beat Brock for the girl and her Pikachu to stop blocking the exit to the Route Gate.

This is true. But then again. It has to be worked upon. I learned this the hard way. Sure inputting the flag into the even is the way to go. But it can reapear at times. I noticed this in my hack. Example:

After bit 14 was set, 14 was in Green's event data. About after 10 mins, he was there again!

What one would have to do is add to the second part of the bit no they're inserting into a script. For example:

To solve Green's problem. I had to make my bit 14 like this 14 07 instead of 14 00. Now I don't know the specifics for the OW data, as I input that info in Johto Map.

Flag Index box would be the bit 14, as for the flag bit box, 7 would go there. That made it stay gone for good. Alhtough I don't know why. I had to do the same with another event(to stop the hero from leaving Pewter City on the right, and be gone after Brock was beaten.)

In summation. It's best to infuse a flag with 06 or 07 in the last byte, and make sure that, that info is in the event data for the certain event.


Pokemon Blue DX is reborn!

Offline

#28 2012-01-04 12:29:54

hacker
Member
From: Batam Grove City
Registered: 2011-07-30
Post 69/548
Website

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

@Mateo.,I want to add legendary pokemon in Safari zone(Fuchia City)
And I have done to add 4 people to the map
Now.,How to edit the people into Pokemon(Like: Mew,or else)?
Please answer..,
I need your help..,


[POKÉMON JOURNEY] hacking planning 2012
Visit my website  www.pokemonhackingblog.blogspot.com

Offline

#29 2012-01-04 22:06:57

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,158/3,578

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

Offline

#30 2012-01-14 04:12:03

hacker
Member
From: Batam Grove City
Registered: 2011-07-30
Post 73/548
Website

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

@Mateo, i add new wrap for new cave..,
How to add new location? ex: on Pokemon Christmas(Route 43) there is a cave and inside of the cave there is a computer..,
How to do like that?
Pleasse answer..,


[POKÉMON JOURNEY] hacking planning 2012
Visit my website  www.pokemonhackingblog.blogspot.com

Offline

#31 2012-01-14 18:00:05

Storm118
Member
Registered: 2012-01-13
Post 6/99

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

How would you change the new warp point to go to  a complete new place you made? Like if you wanted to make a cave. How would you warp to it and so on.


The Storm is here!
Gotta hack them all, Gotta hack them all, Pokemon.

Offline

#32 2012-01-14 20:45:42

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,177/3,578

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

I turned another map into the cave, and I made the warp data tell it to go to warp 1 on that maps's map bank and map number. You can find map bank and number in your map editor, whether you use goldmap or johto map or something, they should all show it.

As for creating entirely new maps, that is more complicated and would require a new tutorial to be written. But I didn't do that for the Christmas hack. The new places are made by replacing old ones. For example, the battle tower was made by making the upper floors of the radio tower off-limits. Some places were made by having whirl islands flooded, and some were made by making the Pokemon Centers only one floor, which freed up all the upstairs maps for new maps. To put trading back in, there is a separate building made from a functional upstairs map of one of the pokemon centers.

Offline

#33 2012-01-14 21:06:22

Storm118
Member
Registered: 2012-01-13
Post 8/99

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

How would you add pokemon to a map that doesn't have pokemon on it to begin with?


The Storm is here!
Gotta hack them all, Gotta hack them all, Pokemon.

Offline

#34 2012-01-14 21:24:12

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 733/2,339

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

Mateo wrote:

As for creating entirely new maps, that is more complicated and would require a new tutorial to be written.

No idea why I never checked out how this works before (believed it was more complicated but by testing out, I changed byte in 0x940EF to 0xA8 to test out if the first map in map bank 02 would belong to map bank 01 and the second map would be put in the place of map 0x1 in map bank 02 and it worked perfectly).

I could write a tutorial explaining this too although I don't think people will really need it that much.

Last edited by Miksy91 (2012-01-14 21:24:44)

Offline

#35 2012-01-15 00:42:58

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,178/3,578

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

That would be quite handy!

Offline

#36 2012-02-17 13:34:56

hacker
Member
From: Batam Grove City
Registered: 2011-07-30
Post 115/548
Website

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

@Mateo, how to make person  gone if the HIRO talk to it?
(ex: When HIRO talk to fat guy in New Bark Town, and after finish talk to him, the fat guy disappear),How to do that?
Pleasse answer..,


[POKÉMON JOURNEY] hacking planning 2012
Visit my website  www.pokemonhackingblog.blogspot.com

Offline

#37 2012-02-18 12:46:18

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 257/452

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

Why don't you read the scripting document I wrote and just try to reverse-engineer some scripts which do what you want?

cYa,

Tauwasser

Offline

#38 2012-02-18 19:02:52

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,220/3,578

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

To make a person disappear, you would need to use the Hide Person command, and set a Bit No. His even would also need to have that Bit No. listed. You cannot properly set Bit No. with Goldmap though, so you would have to do that part in Johtomap or a hex editor because Goldmap only edits one byte of the Bit No. (Which is actally 2 bytes) and it makes you do it from a drop-down list. Those commands are explained in Tauwasser's document.

Offline

#39 2012-02-18 22:48:34

hacker
Member
From: Batam Grove City
Registered: 2011-07-30
Post 118/548
Website

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

@Mateo, when I insert Hide Person "6D" and Bit No. "02" to fat guy in New bark town with Megamap and I try to beat him(I change the fat guy into pokemon) and it wont dissappear.,
Then I will walking to Route 29,
Mary in New bark town is disappear,Why?
I just want to make the fat guy dissappear not Mary
How to do that?
Please answeer..,


[POKÉMON JOURNEY] hacking planning 2012
Visit my website  www.pokemonhackingblog.blogspot.com

Offline

#40 2012-02-18 23:27:07

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,224/3,578

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

Somewhere along the line it seems that something must have been set wrong. It could be a typo or something. And when you say 02 as the Bit No, do you mean the Person Number? because Bit Nos are 2 bytes long, and must be set in addition to the Hide Person command, so that the person stays hidden. ie- Have it hide the person, have it set a Bit No, and have the person's ever data have that Bit No. as well (in the event itself, not just the script it points to).

Offline

#41 2012-02-18 23:47:29

FireSlasher
Member
From: massachusetss
Registered: 2011-06-24
Post 73/178
Website

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

i'm a bit confused atm. so for step two, for pallet town at least, would the address you enter in to find the blank space be 1387AA?


I'm working on Sterling Silver: Cry of Celebi, if you have any questions, suggestions, or comments, feel free to email me

Offline

#42 2012-02-19 00:26:00

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,225/3,578

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

Yes, that would be the address you would start looking for blank space, as that is the original event location. You would then scroll down from there (slowly, don't get carried away and jump down to another bank) and then find some blank space to repoint to.

Offline

#43 2012-02-19 00:55:03

FireSlasher
Member
From: massachusetss
Registered: 2011-06-24
Post 74/178
Website

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

Aight, thanks Matt


I'm working on Sterling Silver: Cry of Celebi, if you have any questions, suggestions, or comments, feel free to email me

Offline

#44 2012-02-19 12:38:39

hacker
Member
From: Batam Grove City
Registered: 2011-07-30
Post 119/548
Website

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

@Mateo, can you give me an example of Bit No?
Pleasse answer..,


[POKÉMON JOURNEY] hacking planning 2012
Visit my website  www.pokemonhackingblog.blogspot.com

Offline

#45 2012-02-19 14:11:10

Cartmic
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 91/156

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

hacker wrote:

@Mateo, can you give me an example of Bit No?
Pleasse answer..,

@hacker please try and refrain from saying please answer at the end of ever question you ask, of course Mateo is going to answer.

@Mateo Why is something that is made of from two bytes called a 'bit' number?

Offline

#46 2012-02-19 15:38:07

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,228/3,578

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

@Cartmic - I'm guessing it is somehow telling it which bit in an array to set somewhere in RAM. But to be honest, I call them that because that is what the compendium calls them. I also use the term "flag" interchangeably.

@hacker - An example for a Bit No. can be found here. The commands used for setting and checking if they are set or not are labeled BitTableCheck and BitTableSet in the description. A Bit No. itself would look like 2 bytes. For example, from my notes for the Christmas Hack:

4605 - Chose Omanyte
4705 - Chose Kabuto

As you can see, these are the flags that are set if you chose Omanyte or Kabuto in the water dojo. However, these particular ones will NOT be free for any use in a normal rom, I removed the place they were originally used so that I could use them there in the hack. In this example, both of these flags originally belonged to the police officers that would battle you at night. I made them no longer battle you, and used their flags for this, and later used the trainer class for something different but that is another story. Anyways, I hope this helped.

Offline

#47 2012-02-19 18:19:50

441/703

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

Cartmic wrote:

Why is something that is made of from two bytes called a 'bit' number?

Because it’s an index identifying a specific bit in memory.

#48 2012-02-19 18:44:25

Tauwasser
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 262/452

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

Actually, that is correct. The "bit numbers" are really just indices into a bit array in RAM. I have come to favor the term flag myself over time, though... Just back then, it made the most sense to call it bit number instead of flag...

cYa,

Tauwasser

Offline

#49 2012-06-16 09:09:17

Akwa
Member
Registered: 2012-06-14
Post 2/140

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

I added two warps to Route 29 (New bark town - Cherrygrove) to make a passage between Cherrygrove and route. Next, I gave the same exact data to events and now, the Potion item reappears every time I reenter the route. Also, Tuscany of Tuesday appears whatever the day it is (doesn't dissapear on non-Tuesdays). What do I need to do to make them work properly?

I moved Route 29 event data addres to: 12A0B8 (4A:60B8) (originally was 12940F (4A:540F))

Offline

#50 2012-06-16 13:14:00

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 928/2,339

Re: Adding Events to a Map in Goldmap 1.6

Akwa wrote:

I added two warps to Route 29 (New bark town - Cherrygrove) to make a passage between Cherrygrove and route. Next, I gave the same exact data to events and now, the Potion item reappears every time I reenter the route. Also, Tuscany of Tuesday appears whatever the day it is (doesn't dissapear on non-Tuesdays). What do I need to do to make them work properly?

I moved Route 29 event data addres to: 12A0B8 (4A:60B8) (originally was 12940F (4A:540F))

You're basically having incorrect Bit Nr. values for them (not the same they are in original Gold/Silver).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB