Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-20 17:06:06

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 204/2,339

Town Map Hacking

You can change the tiles and the positions of areas shown in Town Map with Harrison's GSC Town Map Editor.
However, that doesn't allow you to change the order areas are shown in the game when clicking either Up or Down buttons.

The offset where the names of the maps begin is at 924FE.
You won't see any resemblence to the way the Town Map shows the maps because for example Route 29 comes after New Bark Town instead of Cherrygrove City (they're written like this: New Bark, Cherrygrove, Violet...) However, a pointer table to the names of the maps starts at 92384.
You can easily see that the first pointer leads to "Special", the next pointer points to some random data (ever heard of the Pokegear map glitch in Kanto if you dont visit Indigo Plateau first ? Well, these things cause it.). Nevertheless, the third pointer points to New Bark Town's name and the fourth to Route 29's name !

So yeah, if you for example wanted that the map (of Johto) showed area Violet City after New Bark Town, you'd just change the pointer of Route 29 to that Violet City and you're done ;)

Last edited by Miksy91 (2010-12-20 17:08:35)

Offline

#2 2011-07-07 15:48:04

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 459/2,339

Re: Town Map Hacking

What you basically did was to make the game locate "Blackthorn City"' 's name instead of New Bark Town's.
There are two Blackthorn Cities now, right ?

Anyway, the game is programmed to show the name of the area shown through the first pointer in the list.
After that, the second (which leads to Route 29) etc.

I'm not completely sure about that however since it's more than a month since I changed the flying map last time.

Offline

#3 2011-07-08 08:27:50

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 251/319

Re: Town Map Hacking

so, this with this you can make that .. example that route 29 is before new bark town/?
if so ,could you please explain a little more noobish? cause i really need to get this done on my hack.

Offline

#4 2011-07-08 22:25:14

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 465/2,339

Re: Town Map Hacking

kkj1116 wrote:

I think this is only for changing the names. You can see in my screenshot the name is Blackthorn City but the location is New Bark Town.

There are four bytes for each location:
[X location][Y location][Pointer to the name (2-bytes)]

For example, if you want Route 29 to be shown before New Bark you'd have to change all those four New Bark's bytes into the ones of Route 29 and do the same thing with Route 29.

Last edited by Miksy91 (2011-07-08 22:29:54)

Offline

#5 2011-07-09 01:49:15

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 786/3,578

Re: Town Map Hacking

Since some people seem to be confused about this, how about this

->Change the name pointers so that they point to the areas in the order you want
->Go into the town map editor and drag the locator icon so that it is on top of that town/route/etc

Also note that by doing this, the map names will no longer match up in Goldmap, because each map has a location byte. if the location for New Bark Town is changed to say Blackthorn, then New Bark Town's maps will show up in Goldmap under Blackthorn City, because this is what they will register as internally. By attempting to re-order the maps like this you will have to edit the header of every map whose city would be effected by this so that it will show up as the correct place.

Offline

#6 2011-07-09 08:49:05

Cheestendo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-30
Post 254/319

Re: Town Map Hacking

wow, i don't understand even a single thing :()
@mateo which are the names pointer? and to which numbers i have to change them to/???
and if you change these pointer have will the order show up in the map editor?

Offline

#7 2011-07-09 09:21:31

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 466/2,339

Re: Town Map Hacking

This isn't one of the easiest things to do.
I learned to do this recently myself.

You should study hacking more before trying to move on to things of that kind.

P.S
I can't think of a better way to explain what Mateo pointed out :\

Offline

#8 2011-07-09 20:07:27

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 788/3,578

Re: Town Map Hacking

If you look at Miksy's earlier post it shows the format of town map entries. It tells you which bytes in each entry are the pointer for the name that shows up on that entry.

You change them to point to whatever name you wish to show up there. You can either copy this from the pointer in the entry that originally points to it, or you can calculate it with a pointer calculator.

And the order it will change the names to depends on the order you change the names to. Whichever map location is now first in the list will replace whatever was originally first in the list. Whatever entry is second will replace the second one. Etc.

In all honesty, this type of hacking is going to end up being extremely tedious to fix everythign right, and it is really only useful if you were building a completely new region, like Cheesetendo is doing (although you would still be infinitely better off to just move the existing ones around and type new names over the old ones or repoint the names if you have to, but no sense trying to reorder them). For just making a game that starts in blackthorn, just make it start in blackthorn. This is a lot more trouble than it could ever possibly be worth just to make maps in johto show up in a different order on the town map.

For example, I did this in Secrets and Rumours, but I did it by turning Johto's map into Kanto. Why do this you ask? Well, it fixed an annoying bug that happened when you were in post-elite four parts of kanto before beating the elite four (you could scroll beyond the list of names and all over the place and it could eventually make the game freeze). It also let me have more entries for Kanto, so I could include places originally in Kanto that were dropped such as the Safari Zone and such. (If you look, the beta safari zone just shows up as Fuchsia city). This left me with the Kanto map (which would be a post elite four area entirely now) to make the orange islands map.

Offline

#9 2011-07-09 20:33:49

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 469/2,339

Re: Town Map Hacking

Mateo wrote:

In all honesty, this type of hacking is going to end up being extremely tedious to fix everythign right.

That's what I'll do, lol :DD

I've organized the list pretty well (New Bark --> The Capital, Route 29 --> Southern Edge etc. (because The Capital will show as the first in the town map although you start in another place)).

So basically, I've been changing the "area" byte (in the primary header) of most of the maps that I edit and for the maps that end up in "wrong place", changed their area byte into 00 so that they belong into "Special" now (and been moving places of that area into areas used in the game whenever I need maps to add).

What's more, as you can see in the following pictures, I had to overwrite the text of certain areas that are still unused in the game and as I didn't want Johtomap to show the names of those areas in a bad way like "a 103" (being part of Area 103), I repointed them in the end of the bank to make my job easier :D



95724832.png


82783750.png

Last edited by Miksy91 (2011-07-09 20:36:24)

Offline

#10 2011-07-09 20:50:13

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 790/3,578

Re: Town Map Hacking

Indeed. Its useful when doing something like that, and it seems like you are going about it with the right mindset. That's the same thing I did in a way. I went in and fixed all of Kanto's maps to show the right place names in Goldmap and then assigned the rest of them to "Unused" so I could pull them out when adding a new place or later when its orange islands time.

Offline

#11 2013-07-18 10:00:28

LateNightHacker
Member
From: Ruins of alph
Registered: 2013-07-01
Post 15/153

Re: Town Map Hacking

Hey, thanks miksy for writing this! It helped me a lot!


I Support
Pokemon Grape/
Pokemon Gem/Pokemon Dark Energy

▒█░░░ ▀█▀ ▒█░▄▀ ▒█▀▀▀   ░█▀▀█   ▒█▀▀█ ▒█▀▀▀█ ▒█▀▀▀  ▒█▀▀▀
▒█░░░ ▒█░ ▒█▀▄░ ▒█▀▀▀   ▒█▄▄█   ▒█▀▀▄ ▒█░░▒█ ░▀▀▀▄   ░▀▀▀▄
▒█▄▄█ ▄█▄ ▒█░▒█ ▒█▄▄▄   ▒█░▒█   ▒█▄▄█ ▒█▄▄▄█ ▒█▄▄▄█▒█▄▄▄█

Offline

#12 2013-08-18 14:29:59

80C
Banned
Registered: 2013-03-16
Post 1,065/1,257

Re: Town Map Hacking

I know maybe I should revive too much old threads, but I needed information about Town Map hacking in GenII.
I've seen the Data hacking in this thread.

But I wish know also about Graphical\tile\palettes editing... I don't mean place the tiles (it's easy, there's even a tool to do that) but change the tiles and palettes.

I tried with TLP just like in Red, but I noticed in GSC there's a different compression format for the Town Map tiles and I couldn't use TLP for that... also, I absolutely don't know how the game picks multiple palettes for the Town Map in G\S (I am practised only in Red...).

Also, I wanted put off that boring frame shown in the PokeGear near the upper row of tiles in which the name is shown, in short terms, I wish that the Region Map is shown just like in Red\Blue, with a row of white tiles in the upper part of the screen in which the name is shown and the rest of the region under it.

I didn't found other info about it so I asked it here.


I left this forum.

Offline

#13 2013-08-18 15:10:57

RED
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2012-09-03
Post 443/521

Re: Town Map Hacking

Go to 0xF8000 start searching over there. Make your tlp is on 2bpp view.

About the palette assigment, im sure that it's on my notes. I'll take a look by it tomorrow. It's kinda late now


わたし の なまえ わ レン レン  でづ

Offline

#14 2013-09-18 16:24:06

80C
Banned
Registered: 2013-03-16
Post 1,146/1,257

Re: Town Map Hacking

RED wrote:

Go to 0xF8000 start searching over there. Make your tlp is on 2bpp view.

About the palette assigment, im sure that it's on my notes. I'll take a look by it tomorrow. It's kinda late now

Ok ok, I solved that thing with tlp (just by pressing + & -).

But... where are your notes about Palette assignment in Town Map?
I didn't found 'em...

Also, do you know how to put off that upper frame from the Town Map and then show the names in the town map in the upper row of tiles (like in R\B)?


I left this forum.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB