Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#26 2013-05-04 09:33:24

AtecainCorp.
Member
Registered: 2013-04-14
Post 98/627

Re: Resizing Pokémon Gold Sprites (For Dummies)

It is nice... But I don't know why that Kick me out when I change Sprite Size.


http://hax.iimarck.us/topic/3435/ - Pokemon Ruby GEN V GRAPHIC hack Thread
http://hax.iimarck.us/topic/3476/ - Unused Music Midi Thread
http://hax.iimarck.us/topic/3579/ - Some info about region Thonsu

Offline

#27 2013-05-04 09:47:23

YORAMRW
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-03-29
Post 161/1,199
Website

Re: Resizing Pokémon Gold Sprites (For Dummies)

This tutorial is cool. I will use it later today.


Hacks Gameboy 8-bit music in Pokémon Gen I & II, composes 8-bit music in FamiTracker

Offline

#28 2013-05-04 10:03:39

AtecainCorp.
Member
Registered: 2013-04-14
Post 99/627

Re: Resizing Pokémon Gold Sprites (For Dummies)

It work reversly. First I must inster new Graphic to the game. And later I must resize.


http://hax.iimarck.us/topic/3435/ - Pokemon Ruby GEN V GRAPHIC hack Thread
http://hax.iimarck.us/topic/3476/ - Unused Music Midi Thread
http://hax.iimarck.us/topic/3579/ - Some info about region Thonsu

Offline

#29 2013-08-04 00:07:25

Winter Breeze
New member
From: México
Registered: 2013-08-03
Post 1/9

Re: Resizing Pokémon Gold Sprites (For Dummies)

Hi there I'm just starting with hacking and I'm trying to make a gold hack with absolutely all the pokemon from newwer generations but I think I made a terrible mistake because i didn't considerate the sprites with 40x40 or 48x48 so all my sprites are 56x56 well my question is if I can resize all sprites and make them 56x56 without affect the rom???????? I hope that someone could help me or I'll have to do the spriting again :'(
P.D. sorry my english I'm from Mexico


Just a strange bug in this forest called life...

Offline

#30 2013-08-04 00:25:20

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,816/3,578

Re: Resizing Pokémon Gold Sprites (For Dummies)

If you are trying to add *all* the new Pokemon like you say, you are going to have a lot more problems than image size (which isn't really an issue). The game only uses 1 byte for a Pokemon's identifier meaning there is only room for 255 Pokemon (actually more like 254, since "FF" is often used to mark the end of data). You would have to literally modify every single routine in the game that deals with Pokemon if you want to have more Pokemon than that.

Offline

#31 2013-08-04 00:32:00

Winter Breeze
New member
From: México
Registered: 2013-08-03
Post 2/9

Re: Resizing Pokémon Gold Sprites (For Dummies)

Mateo wrote:

If you are trying to add *all* the new Pokemon like you say, you are going to have a lot more problems than image size (which isn't really an issue). The game only uses 1 byte for a Pokemon's identifier meaning there is only room for 255 Pokemon (actually more like 254, since "FF" is often used to mark the end of data). You would have to literally modify every single routine in the game that deals with Pokemon if you want to have more Pokemon than that.

mmmm well I guess I tried to make more than what I could, could you tell me how many new pokemon might I add in that way????? I dont want to waste all the time that I spent making the sprites ahhh by the way thanks for answer so fast.

Last edited by Winter Breeze (2013-08-04 00:32:41)


Just a strange bug in this forest called life...

Offline

#32 2013-08-04 00:39:30

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,817/3,578

Re: Resizing Pokémon Gold Sprites (For Dummies)

Well, since Gold has 251 Pokemon, and there are 254 slots available... you can do 3. Plus if I remember, the Egg takes up 1 of those slots too.

What you could do though is to pick 251 Pokemon from the new ones that you really like and replace the original Pokemon with your new ones.

Offline

#33 2013-08-04 01:01:06

Winter Breeze
New member
From: México
Registered: 2013-08-03
Post 3/9

Re: Resizing Pokémon Gold Sprites (For Dummies)

Mateo wrote:

Well, since Gold has 251 Pokemon, and there are 254 slots available... you can do 3. Plus if I remember, the Egg takes up 1 of those slots too.

What you could do though is to pick 251 Pokemon from the new ones that you really like and replace the original Pokemon with your new ones.

I think I didnt explain myself clearly because thats just what I want to do replace the pokemon from gen I and II with pokemon from newer gens thats why I wanted to know if change all the sprites to 56x56 won't affect the game :P sorry if I didnt explain it well.


Just a strange bug in this forest called life...

Offline

#34 2013-08-04 01:55:38

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 2,818/3,578

Re: Resizing Pokémon Gold Sprites (For Dummies)

Oh okay then. Yeah you made it sound like you wanted to have 600 and something Pokemon in a gold hack at first.

But yeah, you can easily change which size image each Pokemon loads. My "Pokemon Editor Ultimate" tool can do that. The backsprites need to be 48x48 though.

Offline

#35 2013-08-04 02:04:30

Winter Breeze
New member
From: México
Registered: 2013-08-03
Post 4/9

Re: Resizing Pokémon Gold Sprites (For Dummies)

Mateo wrote:

Oh okay then. Yeah you made it sound like you wanted to have 600 and something Pokemon in a gold hack at first.

But yeah, you can easily change which size image each Pokemon loads. My "Pokemon Editor Ultimate" tool can do that. The backsprites need to be 48x48 though.

600!!!!! that would be the ultimate g/s/c hack but lets start with something easier first thanks and yeah just because i saw your "Pokemon Editor Ultimate" I realize that I could have some problems but now I'll have to get back to work

Last edited by Winter Breeze (2013-08-04 02:06:47)


Just a strange bug in this forest called life...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB