Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-20 06:16:26

Kento
New member
Registered: 2012-03-20
Post 1/3

Changing the position of certain battle parts (R/B)?

I was wondering how to change the position of certain battle scene parts in Pokémon Red/Blue. I've been trying to figure it out but I don't find any useful offsets.

In other words, what I want to do is:
jze9vr.png
Move "CHARMAN" down 8px and the Level to the right. So it would look like the Japanese screenshot.

Is there any coordinates known that allow you to change the position?

Offline

#2 2012-03-24 07:23:47

Kento
New member
Registered: 2012-03-20
Post 2/3

Re: Changing the position of certain battle parts (R/B)?

Can somebody help me? Or my question was really odd? I know that probably some of you guys would never even consider in doing what I want to do even when heavily hacking a game. But I'm confident that at least one or two (or more) here know how to achieve what I want to do (lots of the hackroms I find here are impressively outstanding!).

I usually don't ask for help, only when I have no more ideas I do so (as it should be), so... yeah, I tried everything I know to try to figure it out by myself, but without success.

Offline

#3 2012-03-24 08:20:17

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 828/2,311

Re: Changing the position of certain battle parts (R/B)?

Basically, learn assembly.
You'd have to figure out where in vram ram the game loads the names of the pokemon and debug that ram address.
After that, figure out what to do with that code you'll find there.

P.S
You could also make it so that the first letter in each pokemon's name is 0x7F (empty space) but that'll probably affect both the battle scene with pokemon that already have names of 10 letters and in-game scenes when somebody asks something for pokemon xx. If you don't care that some pokemon miss one letter of their original name, this would be a lot easier way to handle it.

Last edited by Miksy91 (2012-03-24 08:23:37)

Offline

#4 2012-03-24 17:21:14

Mateo
Member
From: The Sims 4
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,307/3,475

Re: Changing the position of certain battle parts (R/B)?

If my understanding is correct, you want to make it so that the name and level are on the same line, like the Japanese game, correct? The problem with this (which is why none of us have ever wanted to do this) is because there is not enough room for them to share a line unless you chop every pokemon's name off short (which it looks like you are already doing). Miksy is right, you would have to learn assembly to move things around, although the 0x7F part would not apply if you are trying to put them on the same line, not just move them one tile to the right.

Just out of curiosity, why do you want to do this? As it stands, it hardly seems like awkwardly cutting every pokemon's name short is a good trade just to put the name and level on the same line to me. But you know, I don't know what you have in mind so this might be perfectly acceptable in the end result somehow. This post has just baffled me so I thought I would ask lol.

Offline

#5 2012-03-25 05:21:18

Kento
New member
Registered: 2012-03-20
Post 3/3

Re: Changing the position of certain battle parts (R/B)?

Yes Mateo, that's what I want to do. I understand this seems to be quite strange, but the first reason I want to do this is because it looks nicer and more organized how the Japanese game displays the name and level, but yes, using this I will need to truncate the names of some Pokémon to 7 characters.

Now I'm following what Miksy91 said, what I now did was the following: http://i41.tinypic.com/kc162w.png

I figured out where in the VRAM the game loads the names of the Pokémon while in battle, now I know that the address is 9C01. What can I do now if I know this address? how can someone "debug a RAM address"?

Offline

#6 2012-03-25 13:45:10

Miksy91
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 834/2,311

Re: Changing the position of certain battle parts (R/B)?

Kento wrote:

Yes Mateo, that's what I want to do. I understand this seems to be quite strange, but the first reason I want to do this is because it looks nicer and more organized how the Japanese game displays the name and level, but yes, using this I will need to truncate the names of some Pokémon to 7 characters.

Now I'm following what Miksy91 said, what I now did was the following: http://i41.tinypic.com/kc162w.png

I figured out where in the VRAM the game loads the names of the Pokémon while in battle, now I know that the address is 9C01. What can I do now if I know this address? how can someone "debug a RAM address"?

Well, first you open the debugger of BGB, go under "Debug" and click "access breakpoints".
Then set a breakpoint to 9C01 for reading, writing and executing.

The game ought to stop from running when the code is accessed which loads the name of the encountered pokemon to that ram address.

Last edited by Miksy91 (2012-03-25 13:46:19)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB